Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez will start tomorrow’s Czech Republic GP from 2nd on the grid after an intense battle during qualifying with Jorge Lorenzo, with five riders lapping under Cal Crutchlow’s 2013 pole position record (1’55.527). Teammate Dani Pedrosa who was suffering due to the injury to his left ankle after crashing in free practice yesterday will start from 9th position.

Jorge and Marc shot to the top of the time sheets immediately on their first exit. However, both riders had more to come, both improving their first exit time considerably, with Marc missing out on pole by just 0.074 seconds with his time of 1’55.063 (lap 6/7). Dani displayed true determination to fight for a good grid position and his time of 1’55.969 (lap 6/7) was just 0.032 seconds of 6th place Andrea Dovizioso in an incredibly tight mid-field.

Tomorrow’s race will begin at 14h00 local time.

Marc Marquez

2nd 1'55.063

"Today we can be very pleased with how the day went, yesterday we were far off Jorge and Valentino’s pace but today we are much closer. It's a good sign, but we knew it would be difficult to beat them over a single lap because it seems that they use the new tyre very well. I set a very good lap, but Jorge’s was fantastic. In terms of race pace I think they are a little better than us, but there isn’t much in it, so in the morning warmup we will try to make a step. We will give one hundred percent in the race and try to keep as close as possible and stick with them to the end."

Dani Pedrosa

9th 1'55.969

"Today was a difficult day and I did the best I could but it was very painful on the bike and hard for me to change gears and move myself around. Although I wasn't slow, I didn't get a great position on the grid as the riders around me are very close with just a few hundredths of a second separating us. So tomorrow we will start a little further back which is always tricky as you find yourself in traffic in the early laps. However, we will try our best tomorrow, hope for a good start and go from there."

MotoGP 2015
Qualifying Round 11   Czech Republic

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'54.989
2 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'55.063
3 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'55.353
4 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'55.390
5 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'55.460
6 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'55.935
7 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'55.954
8 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'55.955
9 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'55.969
10 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'56.192
11 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'56.399
12 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'56.739
13 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'56.713
14 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'56.765
15 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'56.806
16 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'57.133
17 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'57.215
18 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'57.540
19 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'57.552
20 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'57.634
22 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'57.855
23 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'58.599
24 Corti Claudio 71 ITA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'59.145
25 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'59.903
Location Information

The world’s most famous riders have taken part in GP events in Brno since 1930, where up until 1982 they would race through the villages and western parts of the city on a road track named after the first Czechoslovak President – T.G. Masaryk.The only venue that has hosted more… read more.

Length 5.403 kilometres / 3.357 miles
Width 15 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 8
Longest straight 0.636 kilometres / 0.395 miles
Constructed 1987
Modified 1996

Automotodrom Brno, Brno, Czech Republic - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m54.596s (169.7 Km km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2016)
Race Lap 1m 56.027s (167.6 km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2014)
Race Time 41m07.728s (166.6 km/h) Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati, 2018)
2020 Race Winner Brad Binder (KTM)