A conservative Marc Marquez ended the opening day in Assen in seventh, after suffering a heavy fall in FP1 Jorge Lorenzo has been forced to withdraw from the Dutch GP.

Cool morning proceedings gave way to warm running in the afternoon at the 2019 Dutch GP. Marc Marquez started the day with sixth place in Free Practice 1. Improving his time by over a second, the reigning MotoGP World Champion finished the day seventh overall. Once again, the pace of the top ten was within a second and Marquez remains confident in his approach come Sunday.

Jorge Lorenzo’s Dutch GP was unfortunately cut short by a crash at Turn 7 during Free Practice 1. The five-time World Champion fell heavily and suffered a stable fracture to the T6 vertebra. An MRI was performed after, revealing a trabecular fracture in the T8 vertebra as well confirming the T6 fracture. He will soon travel to his home in Lugano, Switzerland.

Running resumes in Assen for the MotoGP class at 09:55 Saturday, June 29, with Free Practice 3.

Marc Marquez

7th 1'33.413

“Seventh on Friday isn’t a panic, we are working for the race and looking to analyse everything. Different tyres and all of these things, working for Sunday. There are four or five riders with a similar pace at the moment but we are there, that’s important. We keep working. It was also very special today to be alongside some of Honda’s legends to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Honda Racing. I’m very sorry for Lorenzo and wish him a speedy recovery.”

Jorge Lorenzo

“Due to the fall I fractured both my T6 and T8 vertebrae. The injury does not allow me to race here in Assen or at the Sachsenring. Tomorrow morning I will fly to Lugano and do all the possible treatments to get ready to go to Brno.”

MotoGP 2019
Practice Round 8   Assen

Dutch TT Combined Free Practice Classification

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'32.638
2 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 0.180
3 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.314
4 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.585
5 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.667
6 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.717
7 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.775
8 Mir Joan 36 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.777
9 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.879
10 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 1.089
11 Bagnaia Francesco 63 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1.177
12 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1.216
13 Miller Jack 43 AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1.236
14 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1.325
15 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.333
16 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 1.402
17 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.556
18 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1.732
19 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1.899
20 Oliveira Miguel 88 POR Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.990
21 Syahrin Hafizh 55 MAL Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 2.612
22 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 3.023
Location Information

Assen is the only venue to have held a round of the Motorcycle World Championship every year since its creation in 1949. The circuit was purpose built for the Dutch TT in 1955, with previous events having been held on public roads. The track is narrow, with rapid changes in… read more.

Length 4.542 kilometres / 2.822 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 12
Longest straight 0.487 kilometres / 0.303 miles
Constructed 1955
Modified 2012

TT Circuit Assen, De Haar, Assen, The Netherlands - View in Google Maps



Pole Position 1m 31.504s (178.6km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 32.500s (176.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Time 40m 25.205s (175.2km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)