Marc Marquez saves another incredible moment on his way to head the second row of the grid for Sunday’s Dutch GP.

Saturday’s action at ‘The Cathedral’ started in typically exciting fashion as the MotoGP World Championship fought for the top ten places in Free Practice 3. A late charge moved reigning champion Marc Marquez up to third in the session with a 1’32.688 and granted him direct passage into Q2.

Setting a 1’32.731 around the 4.5km TT Circuit Assen, Marquez was able to secure fourth as track temperature reached 49°C and the all time lap record was obliterated. Marquez’s penultimate flying lap was upset by a massive moment at Turn 1, the Repsol Honda Team rider performing one of his trademark saves to remain upright.

This is the first time Marquez has not started on the front row of the grid for a MotoGP race in 2019. Having worked with Sunday’s race in mind all weekend, Marquez is confident in his ability to fight his way forward.

Marc Marquez will line up as the lone representative for the Repsol Honda Team on Sunday for the 26-lap MotoGP race after Jorge Lorenzo was declared unfit after his fall in FP1.

Marc Marquez

4th 1'32.731

“I’m happy with the race pace and we knew before the Qualifying that it would be tough as there is more competition than normal. It looks like in the morning it is a little tricky but then in the afternoon when the conditions get warmer we are there. I think it’s going to be a very close race tomorrow and there are four or five of us with good pace. Normally it’s a circuit where we struggle, but in Mugello normally we struggle and we got second and in Montmelo we struggled and won.”

MotoGP 2019
Qualifying Round 8   Assen

Dutch Grand Prix Qualification Results

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1'32.017
2 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.140
3 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.441
4 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.714
5 Mir Joan 36 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1.068
6 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 1.211
7 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1.265
8 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 1.278
9 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1.297
10 Miller Jack 43 AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1.306
11 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1.675
12 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.745
13 Bagnaia Francesco 63 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'33.221 Q1
14 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.245
15 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.326
16 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Esponsorama Racing Ducati 0.362
17 Oliveira Miguel 88 POR Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.485
18 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.555
19 Syahrin Hafizh 55 MAL Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.648
20 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.739
21 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1.359
Location Information

Assen is the only venue to have held a round of the Motorcycle World Championship every year since its creation in 1949. The circuit was purpose built for the Dutch TT in 1955, with previous events having been held on public roads. The track is narrow, with rapid changes in… read more.

Length 4.542 kilometres / 2.822 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 12
Longest straight 0.487 kilometres / 0.303 miles
Constructed 1955
Modified 2012

TT Circuit Assen, De Haar, Assen, The Netherlands - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 31.504s (178.6km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 32.500s (176.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Time 40m 25.205s (175.2km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)