Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez took a remarkable victory in difficult conditions at the San Marino GP – one of just three circuits where he has not previously won in the premier class (along with Motegi and Phillip Island), but Dani Pedrosa was hindered from seeing his pit board clearly causing him to miss the prime window to swap bikes.

As the race got underway, Marc (2nd) and Dani (4th) maintained their grid positions in the early laps, as rain clouds began to roll in. By lap five, rain flags were displayed and some riders began to pit for their wet setup bikes.

On lap seven, the rain intensified and the majority of riders entered the pits for their wet bikes and after emerging back on track, Marc found himself 6th and Dani 11th. Within a lap they had climbed up to 2nd and 8th respectively as the race began to find its rhythm once more. Marc dropped back behind Rossi with Lorenzo leading and the three riders opened up a gap over the field as Dani continued to improve and moved up to 5th by lap fourteen.

As the track began to dry, riders started to enter to change back to their dry bike setup. Marc came in on lap eighteen whilst Lorenzo and Rossi remained out on track. On lap twenty, Lorenzo and Dani came in to change bikes also, but Rossi continued on his wet bike, waiting until lap twenty one to come in to the pits.

With Rossi entering the pits Marc inherited the race lead and Lorenzo crashed out. He maintained his composure to take a convincing seven second win over Bradley Smith, with Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Honda rider – Scott Redding – completing the podium, despite a crash early on in the race. Dani – who missed his pit board message to come in sooner – was stuck in traffic after his second bike change and was unable to improve further than 9th.

Marc – 184 points – has closed the gap in the World Championship and is now 63 points behind Rossi and 40 points behind Lorenzo. Dani remains 7th on 109 points.

Marc Marquez

1st Championship Standing: 3rd - 184 points

"It was a very strange race but I'm happy with the end result. It is difficult to explain everything that happened during the race but I think the key was the second tyre change – from wets to slicks. That was where we made a difference and - believe it or not - it was not me who decided everything! The team informed me of the situation with the pit board and helped me decide when to come in to change bikes, and I have to thank them! Also Honda, because we keep working and doing our best, even though our title chances are slim, so our target to the end of the year remains; The more wins, the better!"

Dani Pedrosa

9th Championship Standing: 3rd - 109 points

"Today was a very tough race and we missed out on a good result. The team did their job well, they had the bikes ready and I was well informed from the pits about the strategy, but I made the mistake. I didn’t see my board a few times going down the straight, so I could not see the team’s orders to enter the pits to change bikes. Now we have to move on and think positive about the next race in two weeks."

MotoGP 2015
Race Round 13   San Marino

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA 25 Repsol Honda Team Honda 48'23.819
2 Smith Bradley 38 GBR 20 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +7.288
3 Redding Scott 45 GBR 16 EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda +18.793
4 Baz Loris 76 FRA 13 Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha +26.427
5 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA 11 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +33.196
6 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA 10 Pramac Racing Ducati +35.087
7 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA 9 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +36.527
8 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA 8 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +37.434
9 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA 7 Repsol Honda Team Honda +39.516
10 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 6 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki +39.692
11 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR 5 CWM LCR Honda Honda +41.995
12 Miller Jack 43 AUS 4 LCR Honda Honda +46.075
13 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA 3 Avintia Racing Ducati +48.381
14 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA 2 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki +52.325
15 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA 1 Aprilia Racing Aprilia +53.348
16 Bradl Stefan 6 GER 0 Aprilia Racing Aprilia +58.828
18 Barbera Hector 8 SPA 0 Avintia Racing Ducati +1'04.768
19 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE 0 Aspar Team Honda +1'05.677
20 Corti Claudio 71 ITA 0 Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha +1 lap
21 Abraham Karel 17 CZE 0 AB Motoracing Honda +1 lap
22 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA 0 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha DNF
23 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA 0 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha DNF
24 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL 0 Ducati DNF
25 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM 0 E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART DNF
26 Pirro Michele ITA 0 Ducati Ducati DNF
Location Information

Close to the city of Rimini, the Misano Adriático circuit was constructed in 1972 and has since undergone an array of modifications. A regular scene for Italian Grands Prix throughout the 80s and early 90s, Misano returned to the MotoGP calendar in 2007.With updated facilities, track and grandstands, the Misano… read more.

Length 4.226 kilometres / 2.626 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 10
Longest straight 0.565 kilometres / 0.351 miles
Constructed 1969
Modified 2008

Misano World Circuit "Marco Simoncelli", Via Daijiro Kato, Misano Adriatico, Rimini, Italy - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m31.065s (167.0 km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2021)
Race Lap 1m31.868s (165.6km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
Race Time 41m43.199s (164.0 km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)