In a closely fought qualifying battle for tomorrow’s San Marino GP, Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez lost out on pole position by just a tenth of a second, with teammate Dani Pedrosa missing out on a front row spot by seven hundredths of a second.

With such a short lap – 4.2km – Marc opted for a three-run strategy to give himself the best chance to fight for pole. Lorenzo took provisional pole on his first exit, with Marc slotting in just behind him in second. Dani then leapfrogged his teammate into second spot as the riders began to enter the pits for fresh rubber.

On Marc’s flying lap of his second run, he made an error and immediately re-entered the pits for his final fresh tyre, with enough time for two flying laps. Lorenzo improved again and despite his best efforts and improving on his first run time by almost four tenths, Marc had to settle for second place with his time of 1’32.252 (lap 7/8). Dani also improved on his final exit with his time of 1’32.434 (lap 7/9) but missed the front row by just 0.076 seconds to Rossi.

Tomorrow’s 28 lap race will begin at 14h00 local time.

Marc Marquez

2nd 1'32.252

"I'm not happy with the qualifying session I had. I think I could have improved my time, but sometimes things do not go as you hope. The important thing is that, despite this, we will start from the front row in second and we’re only a tenth off Jorge. Tomorrow I expect a tough race as Jorge, Valentino and Dani have great pace, but we will try to keep in the fight until the end."

Dani Pedrosa

4th 1'32.434

"It was a bit of a strange qualifying session because I made some mistakes at a couple of points on the track, and could have done a little better. Now we have to focus on tomorrow; we will try to have the best first lap possible and come out strong, to keep position and push for the best pace we can can get throughout the entire race."

MotoGP 2015
Qualifying Round 13   San Marino

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'32.146
2 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'32.252
3 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'32.358
4 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'32.434
5 Pirro Michele ITA Ducati Ducati 1'32.736
6 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'32.801
7 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'32.821
8 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'32.934
9 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'33.169
10 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'33.187
11 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'33.220
12 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'33.222
13 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'33.340
14 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'33.439
15 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'33.710
16 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'34.093
17 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'34.137
18 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'34.296
19 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'34.333
20 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'34.368
21 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'34.468
22 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'34.722
24 Corti Claudio 71 ITA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'35.385
25 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'35.406
26 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'35.684
Location Information

Close to the city of Rimini, the Misano Adriático circuit was constructed in 1972 and has since undergone an array of modifications. A regular scene for Italian Grands Prix throughout the 80s and early 90s, Misano returned to the MotoGP calendar in 2007.With updated facilities, track and grandstands, the Misano… read more.

Length 4.226 kilometres / 2.626 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 10
Longest straight 0.565 kilometres / 0.351 miles
Constructed 1969
Modified 2008

Misano World Circuit "Marco Simoncelli", Via Daijiro Kato, Misano Adriatico, Rimini, Italy - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m31.065s (167.0 km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2021)
Race Lap 1m31.868s (165.6km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
Race Time 41m43.199s (164.0 km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)