The Grand Prix of Aragón has been an event of mixed emotions for the Repsol Honda Team.

Championship leader Marc Marquez, starting from pole for the seventh time this season, extended his Championship lead with a fantastic win – his sixth of the season, but en route he and teammate Dani Pedrosa touched on lap six and as a result, Dani crashed out of the race.

Marc and Dani slipped back to 2nd and 3rd on the first lap but they both chased Lorenzo down and Dani set a new fastest race lap on lap two with 1’48.565. Dani passed Marc on lap five and the two Repsol Honda riders began to catch Lorenzo. It was during this chase that in the back straight, Marc and Dani briefly touched and during the contact, Marc caught a cable on Dani’s real wheel and it snapped – disabling Dani’s traction control and causing him to crash.

It is another disappointing blow for Dani in his bid to become World Champion. He remains on 219 points, 59 points off leader Marc on 278 points with four rounds remaining, Lorenzo is on 239 points – 39 off Marc.

Marc Marquez

“Today was a very gruelling race, because I had to make two comebacks; the first was to catch Jorge after he broke free at the start, then I needed to make another after Dani passed me and I wanted to overtake him after two laps. I felt comfortable but I went a little wide under braking, lifted the bike up and made light contact with him. I’m not sure he even noticed it, but it was a bit of bad luck because the team told me I caused his traction control cable to snap and I’m sorry for that – it’s something very unusual to see. The important thing is that Dani is OK. I was eventually able to overtake Jorge and take the victory, which is important in terms of both the 25 points and for my morale.”

Dani Pedrosa

“Fortunately I’m fine physically. I took a heavy knock to my hip and my groin area, but I was able to escape relatively unhurt from what was a big crash. Marc went in too wide on the corner entry, clipped me from the outside and I went flying when I got on the gas. My mechanics told me later that the traction control cable had been cut by the contact.”

MotoGP 2013
Race Round 14   Aragon

Results Session

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA 25 Repsol Honda Team Honda 42'03.459
2 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA 20 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +1.356
3 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA 16 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +12.927
4 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA 13 Go & Fun Honda Gresini Honda +13.787
5 Bradl Stefan 6 GER 11 LCR Honda MotoGP Honda +13.973
6 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR 10 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +14.662
7 Smith Bradley 38 GBR 9 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +31.220
8 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA 8 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +40.671
10 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA 6 Ducati +55.067
11 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 5 Power Electronics Aspar ART +58.001
12 Hernandez Yonny COL 4 Ducati +1'05.513
13 De Puniet Randy 14 FRA 3 Power Electronics Aspar ART +1'06.589
14 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN 2 Avintia Blusens FTR +1'08.674
15 Corti Claudio 71 ITA 1 Athina Forward Racing FTR-Kawasaki +1'09.130
16 Edwards Colin 5 USA 0 Athina Forward Racing FTR-Kawasaki +1'12.041
17 Scassa Luca 23 ITA 0 AB Motoracing ART +1'45.152
18 Staring Bryan 67 AUS 0 Go & Fun Honda Gresini FTR-Honda +1'45.228
19 Pesek Lukas 52 CZE 0 Came IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER +1'45.583
20 Barbera Hector 8 SPA 0 Avintia Blusens FTR DNF
21 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA 0 Repsol Honda Team Honda DNF
22 Cudlin Damian 50 AUS 0 Paul Bird Motorsport PBM DNF
23 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA 0 Came IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER DNF
24 Laverty Michael 70 GBR 0 Paul Bird Motorsport PBM DNF
Location Information

An ultra-modern facility, MotorLand Aragón had its roots firmly established thanks to a solid history of street racing in Alcañiz, which hosted events between 1963 and 2003. Safety advice warning against the continuation of this led to the proposal and construction of a sporting complex dedicated to motorsport. With support… read more.

Length 5.078 kilometres / 3.155 miles
Width 15 metres
Left corners 10
Right corners 7
Longest straight 0.968 kilometres / 0.601 miles
Constructed 2009

Motorland Aragón, Teruel, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 46.069s (172.3Km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 47.795s (169.5Km/h) Luca Marini (Ducati, 2022)
Race Time 41m 35.462s (168.4 km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Enea Bastianini (Ducati)