Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez battled through the pain barrier caused by his broken little finger and netted a front row spot for tomorrow’s twenty seven lap race, starting in second. Teammate Hiroshi Aoyama will start from the 6th row in 16th place.

Temperatures rose again today in Andalusia to 31ºC and the Jerez track hit 48ºC. In this afternoon’s FP4, Marc had a small crash in the first turn – losing the front – but escaped unhurt. The team worked hard to have both bikes ready for qualifying and Marc was able to make the most of the 15 minute session. He recorded his time of 1’38.300 on his final flying lap, placing him second on the grid. Hiroshi gradually improved throughout the day and took 16th on the grid with his time of 1’39.866 also on his final flying lap.

Marc Marquez

2nd 1'38.300

"We knew it would be hard work to get onto the front row. That was the goal and we succeeded, so I am very happy about that, but we also know that tomorrow will be a difficult race and it will be hard to finish the 27 laps. On the other hand, today I was able to ride without painkillers and tomorrow I will be using them. We had prepared three sets of tyres to use in the qualifying session, however, after the crash, I preferred not to push things and we used just the two - but we could not make it onto pole."

Hiroshi Aoyama

16th 1'39.866

"We tried something different in the setup today but this morning we went in the wrong direction. Then this afternoon we changed things and I felt better on the bike again and was able to go faster. In qualifying we used the softer tyres and although I made a small mistake I still improved my lap time and took 16th on the grid, which is better than yesterday. I am confident with our pace for race distance as I feel better on the harder tyre so we will see how the conditions are tomorrow."

MotoGP 2015
Qualifying Round 4   Spain

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'37.910
2 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'38.300
3 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'38.468
4 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'38.539
5 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'38.632
6 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'38.638
7 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'38.714
8 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'38.823
9 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'39.464
10 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'39.491
11 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'39.789
12 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'39.825
13 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'39.569
14 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'39.603
15 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'39.612
16 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'39.866
17 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'39.974
19 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'40.166
20 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'40.177
21 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'40.280
22 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'40.365
23 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'40.817
24 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'41.108
25 Melandri Marco 33 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'41.273
Location Information

Built in 1986 and hosting its first Grand Prix one year later, the circuit of Jerez is now one of the most popular MotoGP venues and the focal point for a city fanatical about sport. Set in a slight valley in the south of Spain, Jerez is blessed with consistently… read more.

Length 4.423 kilometres / 2.748 miles
Width 11 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 0.607 kilometres / 0.377 miles
Constructed 1986
Modified 2002
Resurfacing Complete resurfacing before 2018 round

Circuito de Jerez, Jerez, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 36.170s (165.5km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 37.669s (163.0km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Time 41m 00.554s (161.7km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)