Despite riding with a broken left little finger, Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez has had an optimistic first day in the GP of Spain finishing third in the combined times with teammate Hiroshi Aoyama placing 20th.

In this morning’s FP1 session, Marc eased back into his rhythm as he adapted to riding with his injury – sustained in a training accident last Saturday. By this afternoon’s FP2 session, Marc was back in the groove and topped the time sheets for a good portion of the session. He improved his morning time by almost half a second and finished third for the day with 1’39.428 (lap 4/16).

Teammate Hiroshi took his time reacquainting himself with Dani Pedrosa’s RC213V machine. He consistently improved throughout the day and also improved by half a second from this morning’s FP1 with his time of 1’40.678 (lap 16/18) placing him twentieth on this first day.

Marc Marquez

3rd 1'39.428 [lap 4/16]

"We can be happy that my hand has responded quite well today - as well as could be expected. It hurts a lot but at least I can put in the laps. We’ll see if tomorrow it is better if it doesn’t swell up. As for the bike, I'm feeling pretty good with it and we are working well, but we need to improve some things - especially in the afternoon - when the track temperature rises. The race will be at this time, so we have to improve the setup accordingly."

Hiroshi Aoyama

20th 1'40.678 [lap 16/18]

"Unfortunately Dani wasn’t able to return to racing at his home Grand Prix so I am replacing him again. Compared to the last two races this first day has been positive for us. Obviously we still need to improve but at the end of FP2 I had a better rhythm and was able to be faster but made some small mistakes. It’s not easy but we must progress further tomorrow as we know all the other riders will also."

MotoGP 2015
Practice Round 4   Spain

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'39.174
2 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'39.223
3 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'39.428
4 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'39.511
5 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'39.535
6 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'39.718
7 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'39.737
8 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'39.871
9 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'39.872
10 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'39.909
11 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'39.937
12 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'39.967
13 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'40.037
14 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'40.092
15 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'40.114
16 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'40.293
17 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'40.363
18 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'40.444
20 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'40.678
21 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'40.752
22 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'40.917
23 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'41.201
24 Melandri Marco 33 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'41.450
25 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'42.176
Location Information

Built in 1986 and hosting its first Grand Prix one year later, the circuit of Jerez is now one of the most popular MotoGP venues and the focal point for a city fanatical about sport. Set in a slight valley in the south of Spain, Jerez is blessed with consistently… read more.

Length 4.423 kilometres / 2.748 miles
Width 11 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 0.607 kilometres / 0.377 miles
Constructed 1986
Modified 2002
Resurfacing Complete resurfacing before 2018 round

Circuito de Jerez, Jerez, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 36.170s (165.5km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 37.669s (163.0km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Time 41m 00.554s (161.7km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)