There were mixed feelings for the Repsol Honda men on a cloudy-but-dry opening day of the Dutch TT in Assen, with Marc Marquez finishing in a close third position, while Dani Pedrosa ended up 11th.

In the morning, each of the teammates spent the whole session on just one set of tyres, aiming to find the best setting choices for his bike. Marc managed to sort out a few solutions that helped in the afternoon, when he was able to constantly lap at the front; he set a very good pace from the beginning and ultimately closed the day just over one tenth from the top.

Dani struggled to find his pace at the beginning of FP2, and although he managed to complete a more positive last run in the end and to reduce his gap to the front to just 0.615s, he wasn’t able to improve as much as he had hoped.

Marc Marquez


“In the first free-practice session, we found things a little demanding and I wasn't able to ride as comfortably as usual, but we remained very focused and worked hard to look for a solution for the afternoon. So, the important thing from today is that the changes we made worked well in the second session, and I was able to set a good pace. We were amongst the top riders throughout the session, but we were also testing a lot of things that I think will help us tomorrow. Here, the track conditions change every time you go out, so we’ll work to try to continue improving, as the times are always very close.”

Dani Pedrosa


“It’s been a very challenging first day because we had some difficulties with stability during both practice sessions. So far, we’ve failed to improve with the changes of tyres and setup that we tried. With such changeable weather, we didn’t want to take the risk of trying too many things, and it was a shame to have these difficulties on a day like today, with everybody’s lap times so tight. Nevertheless, we’ll stay positive; tomorrow we’ll try to take a step forward and get into the top 10 in the last free-practice session in order to gain confidence ahead of qualifying.”

MotoGP 2016
Practice Round 8   Assen

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'33.591
2 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'33.595
3 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'33.724
4 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'33.892
5 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'33.991
6 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'34.011
7 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich Ducati 1'34.065
8 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'34.087
9 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'34.163
10 Redding Scott 45 GBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich Ducati 1'34.172
11 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'34.206
12 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'34.404
13 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 1'34.480
14 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'34.531
15 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Ducati 1'34.789
16 Miller Jack 43 AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'35.008
17 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'35.056
18 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Aspar Team Ducati 1'35.125
19 Pirro Michele 51 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'35.220
20 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'35.284
21 Rabat Tito 53 SPA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'36.582
Location Information

Assen is the only venue to have held a round of the Motorcycle World Championship every year since its creation in 1949. The circuit was purpose built for the Dutch TT in 1955, with previous events having been held on public roads. The track is narrow, with rapid changes in… read more.

Length 4.542 kilometres / 2.822 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 12
Longest straight 0.487 kilometres / 0.303 miles
Constructed 1955
Modified 2012

TT Circuit Assen, De Haar, Assen, The Netherlands - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 31.504s (178.6km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 32.500s (176.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Time 40m 25.205s (175.2km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)