Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa put on a masterclass today at Germany’s Sachsenring, dominating qualifying with a 1-2 finish.

Having led every session so far of the weekend, Marc began qualifying calm but confident. He smashed his own lap record by 0.6 seconds (1’20.937, 2014) on his second qualifying run with his time of 1’20.336 (lap 6/8). Tomorrow Marc will be looking to make it six successive wins at the German GP – all from pole position – after two wins in MotoGP (2013, 2014), two wins in Moto2 (2011 and 2012) and one win in 125cc (2010).

Teammate Dani has also been extremely competitive all weekend and qualified second for tomorrow’s 30 lap race with time of 1’20.628 (lap 7/10). Dani will be pushing for his 5th win in MotoGP class in Sachsenring after wins in 2007, 2010, 2011 & in 2012.

Marc Marquez

1st 1'20.336

"After FP3, I was expecting to set a 1’20.7 or 1’20.6 this afternoon. However, when I saw that I had set a 1’20.3, I decided that it was best to stop and not do any more laps as that's when crashes happen! I am happy with my fast lap, but above all I am pleased with my pace and how I feel on the bike. It seems as if we are gradually getting better with that, but I am aware that tomorrow's race will be a tough 30 laps and that Dani is very strong here, as are Jorge and Valentino, but I feel ready to fight for the victory."

Dani Pedrosa

2nd 1'20.628

"I'm happy because we had a good qualifying session and productive practice sessions beforehand, with a strong pace. Now that we are on the front row tomorrow it will be important to make a good start at this circuit, because it is vital for the race. The track is so small that you benefit a lot from being at the front, so hopefully this time we can go with the first group. The front tyre choice will also be important. We'll see how it goes tomorrow, because we're eager to get a good result. Marc has a slightly stronger pace than mine, but we will try to do well and have a good race."

MotoGP 2015
Qualifying Round 9   Germany

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'20.336
2 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'20.628
3 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'20.921
4 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'21.029
5 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'21.115
6 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'21.220
7 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'21.239
8 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'21.274
9 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'21.329
10 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'21.409
11 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'21.503
12 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'21.796
13 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'21.628
14 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'21.632
15 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'21.760
16 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'22.049
17 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'22.195
18 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'22.225
20 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'22.394
21 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'22.441
22 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN AB Motoracing Honda 1'22.543
23 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'22.693
24 Laverty Michael 70 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'22.947
25 Corti Claudio 71 ITA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'23.374
Location Information

Car and bike races have been held on closed public roads in the area around the town of Chemnitz, Germany since the 1920s and were still taking place until as recently as 1990. It was decided, however, that the five mile course through such a densely populated area was no… read more.

Length 3.671 kilometres / 2.281 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 10
Right corners 3
Longest straight 0.700 kilometres / 0.435 miles
Constructed 1996
Modified 2001 (resurfaced in 2017)

Lerchenstraße, 09337 Hohenstein-Ernstthal, Germany - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m19.931s (165.3km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m21.228s (162.6km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2019)
Race Time 41m 01.087s (161km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2015)
2022 Race Winner Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha)