The 2015 season has officially begun in Losail with reigning World Champion, Marc Marquez, ending the first practice session at the top of the time sheets, and teammate Dani Pedrosa just 0.76s behind in second place.

With track conditions surprisingly good on this first day – considering the rain that has fallen in the past week – the MotoGP class were immediately on the pace with Dani setting his fastest time of 1’55.357 on just his third lap, sending him to the top of the classifications. Marc’s second lap placed him second behind Dani and then after a brief modification, Marc went back on track and his fifth lap put him on top of the board with a time of 1’55.281 (just 0.128 off Casey Stoner’s circuit lap record in 2008 – 1’55.153), and remained unbeaten for the remainder of the session.

It was an impressive display from the Repsol Honda riders, who are 0.4s faster than their next opponent (Aleix Espargaro), with a mere second separating 3rd place to 16th.

FP2 will commence tomorrow at 18h00 local time.

Marc Marquez

1st 1'55.281 [Lap 5/15]

"Today went pretty well. It is always important to make a good start to the weekend. I felt good and the feeling was similar to that which we had in pre-season testing, although maybe there was a little less grip. We tried some things that we had prepared after the test and this went well. Tomorrow we will try to keep progressing, but we can't forget that the track surface here will improve a lot and the times will come down."

Dani Pedrosa

2nd 1'55.357 [Lap 3/15]

"We have completed the first session of the year and we have done quite well. Now we are going to work on the bike to in preparation for the coming days. We need to keep taking steps forward as the weekend goes on and keep improving our pace. The track was in quite good condition and we'll see how it evolves over the course of the Grand Prix weekend."

MotoGP 2015
Practice Round 1   Qatar

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'55.281
2 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'55.357
3 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'55.685
4 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'55.698
5 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'55.818
6 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'55.939
7 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'55.980
8 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'56.139
9 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'56.162
10 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'56.315
11 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'56.361
12 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'56.374
13 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'56.428
14 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'56.577
15 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'56.651
16 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'56.768
17 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'56.922
18 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'56.957
19 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'56.983
20 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'57.031
22 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'57.130
23 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'57.224
24 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'57.612
25 Melandri Marco 33 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'59.579
Location Information

The fabulous Lusail International Circuit lies on the outskirts of Doha, the capital city of Qatar. Built in little over a year, the track cost $58 million USD and required round-the-clock dedication from almost 1,000 workers in order to get it ready for the inaugural event – the Marlboro Grand… read more.

Length 5.380 kilometres / 3.343 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 10
Longest straight 1.068 kilometres / 0.664 miles
Constructed 2004

Losail International Circuit, Al Daayen, Qatar - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 52.772s (171.7km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2021)
Race Lap 1m 54.624s (168.9 km/h) Maverick Viñales (Yamaha,2021)
Race Time 42m13.198 (168.2km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Enea Bastianini (Ducati)