In an incredibly close FP3 session Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez remained on top of the timings with his time of 1’54.822, breaking Casey Stoner’s circuit lap record from 2008 (1’55.153). Dani Pedrosa ended the session in fifth place, just 0.202 seconds off his teammate.

Marc has led every session so far in this weekend’s Qatar GP, the opening round of 2015, and his record time which was made on his final flying lap, beat Honda satellite rider Cal Crutchlow’s time by just 0.096s, and ensures he will not need to take part in tomorrow’s Q1. Marc’s teammate Dani Pedrosa finished in fifth place with his time of 1’55.024 and he also qualifies for Q2.

The riders will return on track for tomorrow’s FP4 at 19h55 local time. Then Q1 will take place at 20h35 and Q2 at 21h00 with both sessions expected to be very closely fought battles. Just 1.1 seconds separates the top nineteen riders, with a mere half a second between the top ten riders.

Marc Marquez

1st 1'54.822 [Lap 15/16]

"Today has been a very good day, because we have improved our pace – which is the most important thing - and tried out a few things that have allowed us to progress. We will see tomorrow if the track conditions stay the same or improve, but today we saw times that were very close; I think that tomorrow they will be even closer. The most important thing will be to continue like this and prepare for Sunday’s race."

Dani Pedrosa

5th 1'55.024 [Lap 3/16]

"Unlike yesterday, today we had two practice sessions and we were able to get more of a feel for both the bike and the track. I think that getting into Q1 is good and now we have to focus on tomorrow in order to make the final adjustments to the setup and qualify well for the race."

MotoGP 2015
Practice Round 1   Qatar

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'54.822
2 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'54.918
3 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'54.992
4 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'54.994
5 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'55.024
6 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'55.044
7 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'55.102
8 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'55.108
9 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'55.192
10 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'55.328
11 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'55.396
12 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'55.447
13 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'55.676
14 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'55.694
15 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'55.707
16 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'55.741
17 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'55.777
19 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'55.913
20 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'56.080
21 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'56.162
22 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'56.768
23 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'56.966
24 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'57.107
25 Melandri Marco 33 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'58.542
Location Information

The fabulous Lusail International Circuit lies on the outskirts of Doha, the capital city of Qatar. Built in little over a year, the track cost $58 million USD and required round-the-clock dedication from almost 1,000 workers in order to get it ready for the inaugural event – the Marlboro Grand… read more.

Length 5.380 kilometres / 3.343 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 10
Longest straight 1.068 kilometres / 0.664 miles
Constructed 2004

Losail International Circuit, Al Daayen, Qatar - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 52.772s (171.7km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2021)
Race Lap 1m 54.624s (168.9 km/h) Maverick Viñales (Yamaha,2021)
Race Time 42m13.198 (168.2km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Enea Bastianini (Ducati)