Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa began their preparations for the Catalan Grand Prix on a sunny opening day at the newly resurfaced Montmelo Circuit, which has a revised layout. Dani set the 12th fastest lap time in the FP1 session and the eighth fastest in FP2, wrapping up the day ninth in the combined standings.

Marc Marquez was in fine form beginning with the morning session, when he posted the third fastest lap time. The reigning World Champion was also keeping a very good pace on used tyres in the afternoon FP2 session, but a crash in the final phases cost him the chance to improve his performance, leaving him in 12th position on the combined timesheets.

Dani Pedrosa

9th 1'39.655

“I think today was positive enough, as we were able to improve our rhythm over the course of the day, after a slow start. We managed to exploit the track time quite well, testing a lot of tyres. That’s also good from the perspective of the work we’re doing, because we already understand which one we want to work with. I think that’s an important step in view of the race. Another significant aspect we would like to improve is our speed over a single lap, but as I said, we gained some pace today and I’m happy with that.”

Marc Marquez

12th 1'39.882

“Looking at the standings today, you could say we’re quite far back, but actually we’re not bad at all and most importantly, we worked very well on used tyres and have a good rhythm. We still have a small thing to adjust in the electronics setup, but we think we understood where we have to work; if we’re able to sort it out, we’ll have the possibility to improve a lot tomorrow. It seems that with the new asphalt, everything is very, very tight, and it’s more difficult to make a difference. There’s big difference between lapping on new tyres and on old tyres, so we must manage that aspect well.”

MotoGP 2018
Practice Round 7   Catalunya

Free Practice Classification

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'38.930
2 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.107
3 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.492
4 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.513
5 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.526
6 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 0.528
7 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.689
8 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.703
9 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.725
10 Syahrin Hafizh 55 MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 0.852
11 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 0.921
12 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.952
13 Kallio Mika 36 FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.074
14 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1.335
15 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.379
16 Miller Jack 43 AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1.380
17 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1.458
18 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1.469
19 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 1.520
20 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1.578
21 Simeon Xavier 10 BEL Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1.767
22 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1.798
23 Redding Scott 45 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1.885
24 Luthi Tom 12 SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 2.045
25 Guintoli Sylvain 50 FRA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 2.299
26 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 2.431
Location Information

In 1989, through the joint collaboration of the Catalan Autonomous Government, the Montmeló Town Council and the Royal Automobile Club of Catalunya (RACC), work began on giving one of Europe’s most beautiful cities a state of the art race track to match. The Circuit de Catalunya opened on the doorstep… read more.

Length 4.627 kilometres / 2.875 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 1.047 kilometres / 0.651 miles
Constructed 1991
Modified 2018

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló, Catalunya, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m38.742s (169.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Lap 1m39.939 (167.7km/h) Johann Zarco (Ducati, 2021)
Race Time 40'21.749 (166.1km/h) Miguel Oliveira (KTM, 2021)
2022 Race Winner Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha)