Good weather conditions (max temperature: 31° C air, 42° ground) favoured day one of the first MotoGP pre-season test in Sepang, Malaysia, until rain began falling at 4 p.m.

The track had opened at 10 a.m., and Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa headed out 15 minutes later to get to work defining the setup of the RC213V, trying different engine configurations and spending also time testing new Michelin tyres. The afternoon downpour also gave Marc and Dani the opportunity to complete a few laps with a wet configuration.

Their best lap times for the day were 2’00.738 on lap 25 of 56 for Marquez (ninth) and 2’00.970 on lap 25 of 44 for Pedrosa (13th). Testing will continue for two more days.

Marc Marquez

9th 2’00.738

“The feeling today wasn’t so bad considering that the first day after the holiday break is always a bit demanding for the rider and the team! We’ve been testing two bikes with different engine configurations, but we mainly concentrated on one, playing with electronics, geometry, setup and so on. We gathered a lot of information, and now we’ll keep working. We also decided to make the best of the situation when the rain arrived and did some laps in the wet, but we look forward to continuing testing in the dry tomorrow to better understand and exploit the potential of our bike.”

Dani Pedrosa

13th 2'00.970

“Today I basically got reacquainted with riding my bike, with the track and the tyres, and I also rode for the first time on the new asphalt here at Sepang. We’ve started working on the bike as we have two different engine configurations to test. We mainly worked with one bike. We also had the chance to ride in the wet on that bike, and we got good information. Hopefully it won’t rain tomorrow, and I think we’ll be able to go more deep in the testing than we were today.”

MotoGP 2017
Testing   Malaysia

Results Session

Mostly sunny
Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Stoner Casey 27 AUS Ducati Test Team Ducati 1'59.680
2 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.117
3 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.449
4 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 0.454
5 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.809
6 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 0.889
7 Folger Jonas 94 GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 0.963
8 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1.014
9 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1.058
10 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1.063
11 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 1.170
12 Redding Scott 45 GBR Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 1.173
13 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1.290
14 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1.544
15 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1.592
16 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Yamaha 1.658
17 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1.669
18 Baz Loris 76 FRA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1.672
19 Tsuda Takuya 85 JPN Suzuki Test Team Suzuki 2.132
20 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 2.210
21 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 2.246
22 Miller Jack 43 AUS Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 2.263
23 Nozane Kohta 31 JPN Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2.507
24 Nakasuga Katsuyuki 21 JPN Yamalube Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 2.611
25 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 2.635
26 Lowes Sam 22 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 3.263
27 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 3.353
Location Information

Specifically built for speed and exciting racing, the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia is one of the world’s best. The 2,300 acre complex cost around £50m to construct and was built in just 14 months, holding its first Grand Prix in April 1999 and setting the standard for race circuits… read more.

Length 5.543 kilometres / 3.444 miles
Width 25 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 10
Longest straight 0.920 kilometres / 0.572 miles
Constructed 1998

Sepang International Circuit Klia Pahang Malaysia - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 57.790s (169.4km/h) Jorge Martin (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 59.661s (166.7km/h) Valentino Rossi (Yamaha, 2019)
Race Time 40m 14.332s (165.3 km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati,2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)