After yesterday’s fantastic race, Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa were back on track today for the Official Post-Race Test.

Marc worked on electronics and mapping settings and tested a new Öhlins fork and the new front Bridgestone tyre, confirming the tyre felt safer and provided better feedback than the current one. This morning he tested the proposed new circuit layout which uses the tighter F1 corner at the end of the back straight as a possible safety change and agreed it would be better as riders are not so close to the wall. Dani’s test programme also included the new front tyre, front fork and mapping settings. He reported positively on the new tyre – even though he tried it when the track temperature was at it’s lowest – but unfortunately it seems it won’t be available until Sepang.

Marc was fastest for the day with his lap of 1’41.184 (just 0.049 off his qualifying time from Saturday) on lap 45 of 46. Dani finished the day seventh with a time of 1’41.969 on lap 18 of 61.

Marc Marquez

"Today we carried out a lot of testing: from the electronics, to the bike setup, to a bit of suspension work. I have to say, I felt very comfortable - even more so than during the Grand Prix weekend. There were also a few things that didn't completely work out, or that we weren't expecting, but this is also useful for us when it comes to picking up ideas and directions to go in for the future. Now we have to get ready for the next race in Assen"

Dani Pedrosa

"Today we tested two different front forks and we also worked on the electronics setup and on a new front tyre compound. The tyre gave us good results and could be positive for us at some rounds this year, in conditions similar to yesterday's Grand Prix, as it’s not too soft, nor too hard. The overall verdict of the day is positive, although we had already made the step forward between Mugello and Barcelona. Bearing in mind the new parts that could be tested out, we have managed to find a good feeling"

MotoGP 2014
Testing Round 7   Catalunya

Testing Results

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'41.184
2 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'41.224
3 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'41.515
4 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'41.640
5 Bradl Stefan 6 GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 1'41.655
6 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati 1'41.874
7 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'41.969
8 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 1'42.138
9 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'42.153
10 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'42.174
11 Dovizioso Andrea 04 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'42.379
12 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Go & Fun Honda Gresini Honda 1'42.542
13 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'42.909
14 Redding Scott 45 GBR Go & Fun Honda Gresini Honda 1'43.294
15 Pirro Michele 51 ITA Ducati Ducati 1'43.305
16 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'43.449
17 De Puniet Randy 14 FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 1'43.683
18 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'44.163
19 Edwards Colin 5 USA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'44.364
20 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Avintia 1'44.624
21 Laverty Michael 70 GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 1'45.076
22 Aegerter Dominique 77 SWI Avintia Racing FTR-Kawasaki 1'45.370
23 Parkes Broc 23 AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 1'45.534
Location Information

In 1989, through the joint collaboration of the Catalan Autonomous Government, the Montmeló Town Council and the Royal Automobile Club of Catalunya (RACC), work began on giving one of Europe’s most beautiful cities a state of the art race track to match. The Circuit de Catalunya opened on the doorstep… read more.

Length 4.627 kilometres / 2.875 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 1.047 kilometres / 0.651 miles
Constructed 1991
Modified 2018

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló, Catalunya, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m38.742s (169.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Lap 1m39.939 (167.7km/h) Johann Zarco (Ducati, 2021)
Race Time 40'21.749 (166.1km/h) Miguel Oliveira (KTM, 2021)
2022 Race Winner Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha)