Dani Pedrosa delivered an astonishing performance this afternoon in the Catalan sunshine, taking pole position for the second time this year.

Dani started the day by setting the second-fastest time in the FP3 session before going on to top the standings in both FP4 and qualifying. He was the only rider able to crack the 1’44” barrier, setting a 1’43.870 time that earned him his 30th pole in MotoGP and the 48th of his career.

Marc Marquez also showed a brilliant pace over the day, ending FP3 in first, FP4 in third, and finally settling for fourth in qualifying despite two crashes in the session.

Dani Pedrosa


“I’m very happy because taking pole is always very difficult, and doing it in front of your home fans is just amazing. Last year we struggled a lot in qualifying, while this season we’ve already earned two poles, so I wish to thank my team for the good work. We’ve worked really hard on this aspect, and we’re getting better and better. The conditions were quite difficult today, especially for the tyres as it was very hot and the grip wasn’t the best. We tried to manage the situation as well as possible, working a lot on the setup to improve tyre life. The tyres will be the key to the race tomorrow; it’d be great to have the same feeling from today, but we’ll wait and see. We’ll just remain focused and be prepared to do our best.”

Marc Marquez

4TH 1'44.320

“Fourth on the grid, four crashes—today was a bit challenging for us, but in reality we’re not so bad. We started the day very well; I felt very comfortable in FP3, but then I crashed in FP4 and everything followed from that. We were able to prepare the bike for the qualifying session, but the feeling wasn’t exactly the same; when the temperature gets so high, the front tyre moves a lot. But I was at my home GP, so I just gave it my all and tried 100%. I crashed, but in the end we’ll start from fourth, which isn’t that bad. I think if I’m able to keep calm and ride more smoothly, we’ll be okay. I look forward to having a great race tomorrow, and to fighting for the podium.”

MotoGP 2017
Qualifying Round 7   Catalunya

Qualifying Results

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'43.870
2 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.331
3 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 0.350
4 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.450
5 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.478
6 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 0.511
7 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.581
8 Folger Jonas 94 GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 0.730
9 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.750
10 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 0.870
11 Redding Scott 45 GBR Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 0.982
12 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1.058
13 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.422 (Q1)
14 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 0.442 (Q1)
15 Miller Jack 43 AUS Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 0.590 (Q1)
16 Baz Loris 76 FRA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 0.680 (Q1)
17 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 0.923 (Q1)
18 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 1.402 (Q1)
19 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 1.502 (Q1)
20 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Yamaha 1.648 (Q1)
21 Lowes Sam 22 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 4.564 (Q1)
22 Guintoli Sylvain 50 FRA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1.734 (FP3)
23 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 2.675 (FP3)
Location Information

In 1989, through the joint collaboration of the Catalan Autonomous Government, the Montmeló Town Council and the Royal Automobile Club of Catalunya (RACC), work began on giving one of Europe’s most beautiful cities a state of the art race track to match. The Circuit de Catalunya opened on the doorstep… read more.

Length 4.627 kilometres / 2.875 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 1.047 kilometres / 0.651 miles
Constructed 1991
Modified 2018

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló, Catalunya, Spain - View in Google Maps



Pole Position 1m38.742s (169.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Lap 1m39.939 (167.7km/h) Johann Zarco (Ducati, 2021)
Race Time 40'21.749 (166.1km/h) Miguel Oliveira (KTM, 2021)
2022 Race Winner Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha)