Local boy Dani Pedrosa has taken his first pole position since Catalunya last year at his home circuit with teammate Marc Marquez, who was been on pole every race so far this season, crashing out on his final run in qualifying.

Dani, who is still recovering from his arm surgery five weeks ago, has been gradually improving all weekend after being ninth in Friday. His time of 1’40.985 (lap 5/7) was just 0.092 off his pole record from 2013 (1’40.893). Marc had taken provisional pole on his first run, but again the 2013 World Champion and his team opted for a three-run qualifying to give him the best chance at his seventh consecutive pole of 2014. However, on his final run Marc crashed in turn one ending his session. Fortunately his time of 1’41.135, recorded on his first run, was enough for the front row for tomorrow’s 25 lap race.

Dani Pedrosa

"I am very happy to have taken pole position today, in front of my family and the home fans! I am also delighted that, for the first time this year, I felt good on the bike in qualifying. I'll try and get a good start from pole position tomorrow, I am sure that it will be very hot and we will have to manage the tyres well during the race, but we will try to do as well as possible!"

Marc Marquez

“Today I made the first mistake of the season, so I need to apologise to the team because it was my fault. The strategy we had set out was coming together perfectly, but when riding with the last tyre I braked too late. I knew it was my last attempt, so I tried to go into the corner anyway. That was not the best choice; I should have written off the lap, but these things happen when you are riding at home; you always try to give a little bit extra. We know for tomorrow that there is no more room for improvement on that corner and that we have a good setup with which to fight for the win.”

MotoGP 2014
Qualifying Round 7   Catalunya

Results Session

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'40.985
2 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'41.100
3 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'41.135
4 Bradl Stefan 6 GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 1'41.220
5 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'41.290
6 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'41.308
7 Dovizioso Andrea 04 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'41.337
8 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'41.491
9 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 1'41.671
10 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'41.677
11 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati 1'41.751
12 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Go & Fun Honda Gresini Honda 1'42.024
13 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'42.578
14 Redding Scott 45 GBR Go & Fun Honda Gresini Honda 1'42.730
15 Pirro Michele 51 ITA Ducati Ducati 1'42.955
17 Edwards Colin 5 USA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'43.226
18 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 1'43.360
19 Parkes Broc 23 AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 1'43.530
20 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN Aspar Team Honda 1'43.564
21 Laverty Michael 70 GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 1'43.737
22 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'44.115
23 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Avintia 1'45.012
24 Fabrizio Michel 84 ITA Octo IodaRacing Team ART 1'46.214
Location Information

In 1989, through the joint collaboration of the Catalan Autonomous Government, the Montmeló Town Council and the Royal Automobile Club of Catalunya (RACC), work began on giving one of Europe’s most beautiful cities a state of the art race track to match. The Circuit de Catalunya opened on the doorstep… read more.

Length 4.627 kilometres / 2.875 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 1.047 kilometres / 0.651 miles
Constructed 1991
Modified 2018

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló, Catalunya, Spain - View in Google Maps



Pole Position 1m38.742s (169.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Lap 1m39.939 (167.7km/h) Johann Zarco (Ducati, 2021)
Race Time 40'21.749 (166.1km/h) Miguel Oliveira (KTM, 2021)
2022 Race Winner Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha)