Dani Pedrosa has taken an incredible pole position for tomorrow’s Malaysian GP – his first since Catalunya 2014 – and with it broken the current lap record by over seven tenths of a second. His teammate, Marc Marquez, secured second place on the grid, celebrating the team’s third 1-2 start of 2015 (also in Sachsenring, Indianapolis).

With most riders aiming aiming to complete three exits in qualifying, Dani decided on only two and waited before exiting the garage in order to have more space on track without traffic. He executed his plan perfectly, and on his first flying lap he broke the lap record with his time of 1’59.053 – beating the 2014 record by 0.738 seconds (1’59.791 – Marquez) – and six tenths faster than second place Marc.

Marc made a small mistake on his second run – lucky not to crash – and returned immediately to the garage. On his final run, he confirmed his second place on the grid bettering his time with 1’59.462 on his final lap. Dani was unable to top his first time, but still managed an impressive 1’59.431 on his second run.

Tomorrow’s race will begin at 15h00 local time.

Dani Pedrosa

1st 1'59.053

"The team did a great job! We will have to concentrate a lot in the race, because the tyres are suffering at this track so there is the possibility of making mistakes, and we must be attentive on every lap. I will try to ride as best I can, but I’m sure that the bike and tyres will have a tough time. We will have to see how the track is tomorrow, because with so much heat we might not have as much grip as now; we will have to feel it out on the first few laps."

Marc Marquez

2nd 1'59.462

"Dani did a great lap, which was difficult to beat! We will try to give 100% from the start of the race, which I think will be tough physically, but I think we are good in terms of our race pace. I am finding things harder with fresh tyres here - compared to other circuits - especially the front and that was seen when I came close to crashing! We have been doing quite well during the weekend; we’re not totally comfortable but we’re handling the situation well and finding our race pace."

MotoGP 2015
Qualifying Round 17   Malaysia

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'59.053
2 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'59.462
3 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'59.726
4 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'59.737
5 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 2'00.199
6 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 2'00.224
7 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 2'00.423
8 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 2'00.478
9 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2'00.652
10 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 2'00.724
11 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 2'00.724
12 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2'00.794
13 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 2'01.223
14 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Aprilia Racing Aprilia 2'01.346
15 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 2'01.367
16 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 2'01.725
17 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 2'01.727
18 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 2'01.748
20 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 2'01.862
21 Elias Toni 24 SPA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 2'02.415
22 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 2'02.460
23 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 2'02.964
24 West Anthony 13 AUS AB Motoracing Honda 2'03.855
25 Cudlin Damian 55 AUS E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 2'06.051
Location Information

Specifically built for speed and exciting racing, the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia is one of the world’s best. The 2,300 acre complex cost around £50m to construct and was built in just 14 months, holding its first Grand Prix in April 1999 and setting the standard for race circuits… read more.

Length 5.543 kilometres / 3.444 miles
Width 25 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 10
Longest straight 0.920 kilometres / 0.572 miles
Constructed 1998

Sepang International Circuit Klia Pahang Malaysia - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 57.790s (169.4km/h) Jorge Martin (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 59.661s (166.7km/h) Valentino Rossi (Yamaha, 2019)
Race Time 40m 14.332s (165.3 km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati,2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)