Repsol Honda rookie, Marc Marquez, has won the 2013 MotoGP World Championship by taking 3rd place in the final race of the season in Valencia. Teammate Dani Pedrosa took second to complete the team’s eleventh double podium of the season and claim Honda’s 62nd Constructor’s Championship in the premier class.

The race began with Lorenzo taking the lead and trying to bunch up the field. Dani pursued him and attempted several passes, but was unable to make them stick. At the beginning of lap 10, Dani and Lorenzo touched briefly and this allowed Marc to come through and take the lead with Dani dropping to 5th. Lorenzo would not give up so easy and on lap 11 he re-passed Marc. By lap 14 Dani was back up to 3rd and closing in on Marc. Dani recorded a new lap record on lap 22 with 1’31.628 and passed the young rookie on lap 26.

With just 4 laps remaining Marc, showed maturity and patience, knowing that his position was enough to claim the Championship. He passed the line in 3rd place and took his first MotoGP crown on his maiden year, becoming the youngest rookie at 20 years 266 days to win the Championship.

Dani Pedrosa

"The race was difficult at the start because of the overtaking moves between myself and Jorge. However, we fought to the limit until I was taken a little off the track and lost ground as a result. Above all, I want to congratulate Marc today. He has done an excellent job this season and had a great campaign. We should take our hats off to him because he has achieved something historic; to win the MotoGP title as a rookie is incredible”

Marc Marquez

“It was a really long race, maybe the longest of my career! At the start I was very nervous, I know I said I wasn’t but if I’m honest I really was. Jorge had a very good start, as usual, and I wasn’t sure which tactic to take. I followed Jorge and Dani and began to settle into the race. Then towards the end, I decided not to push as I knew my position was secure and safe to take the Championship. It has been a fantastic year, I am still in a dream! I really didn’t expect this at the beginning and I am really so very happy. So thank you to all my team, my family and of course Honda and all our sponsors. The support from everyone and all my fans around the World has been incredible and I dedicate this Championship to you all!”

MotoGP 2013
Race Round 18   Valencia

Results Session

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA 25 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 46'10.302
2 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA 20 Repsol Honda Team Honda +3.934
3 Marquez Marc 93 SPA 16 Repsol Honda Team Honda +7.357
4 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA 13 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +10.579
5 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA 11 Go & Fun Honda Gresini Honda +14.965
6 Bradl Stefan 6 GER 10 LCR Honda MotoGP Honda +24.399
7 Smith Bradley 38 GBR 9 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +29.043
9 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA 7 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +53.196
10 Pirro Michele 51 ITA 6 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +1'02.983
11 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 5 Power Electronics Aspar ART +1'04.197
12 Barbera Hector 8 SPA 4 Avintia Blusens FTR +1'06.826
13 Corti Claudio 71 ITA 3 Athina Forward Racing FTR-Kawasaki +1'11.481
14 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA 2 Came IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER +1'13.643
15 Edwards Colin 5 USA 1 Athina Forward Racing FTR-Kawasaki +1'24.249
16 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN 0 Avintia Blusens FTR +1'33.010
17 Laverty Michael 70 GBR 0 Paul Bird Motorsport PBM +1 Lap
18 Scassa Luca 23 ITA 0 AB Motoracing ART +1 Lap
19 Staring Bryan 67 AUS 0 Go & Fun Honda Gresini FTR-Honda +1 Lap
20 Bauer Martin 45 AUT 0 Remus Racing Team S&B Suter +1 Lap
21 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA 0 Ducati DNF
22 De Puniet Randy 14 FRA 0 Power Electronics Aspar ART DNF
23 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR 0 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha DNF
24 Hernandez Yonny COL 0 Ducati DNF
25 Pesek Lukas 52 CZE 0 Came IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER DNF
26 Cudlin Damian 50 AUS 0 Paul Bird Motorsport PBM DNF
Location Information

The Circuito de la Comunitat Valenciana was completed in 1999 and held rounds of the MotoGP and Spanish Motorcycle Championships in the same year. The Cheste track has several layouts, running anti-clockwise with varying lengths. MotoGP events are held on a 4km track comprising of five right handed corners, eight… read more.

Length 4.005 kilometres / 2.489 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 9
Right corners 5
Longest straight 0.876 kilometres / 0.544 miles
Constructed 1999

Circuito de la Comunidad Valenciana Ricardo Tormo, Cheste, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 29.401s (161.2km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2016)
Race Lap 1m 31.116s (158.2km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2019)
Race Time 45m 54.228s (157 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2016)
2020 Race Winner Race 1: Joan Mir (Suzuki) || Race 2: Franco Morbidelli (Yamaha)