Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez, race winner here last year, has made his intentions clear from the start at Austin’s Circuit of the Americas. Marc finished this morning’s FP1 session at the top of the time sheets with a lap of 2’04.704 on lap 10 of 15, and 0.8s faster than any other rider.

Marc’s teammate, Dani Pedrosa, finished the 45 minute session in third place with a fastest lap of 2’05.676 on his final lap of 15.

FP2 will begin at 14h05 local time.

Marc Marquez

“It’s been a positive session and it’s nice to start with a good feeling and to find a base setting I’m happy with right from the beginning. This track has a drastic change of direction which is quite difficult if you’re not 100% fit, so I could feel it - even after just a few laps. Now we will try to improve this afternoon, I think it will be difficult to maintain the gap going into FP2 and the other riders will for sure be closer.”

Dani Pedrosa

“The track grip level seems to be quite good and I’m sure it will improve with more rubber laid down. We still have some work to do to find the right set up and maybe we’ll also try the hard rear tyre in FP2. Anyway, I’m happy with this morning’s session and we’ll keep working in the same direction this afternoon.”

Location Information

The Circuit Of The Americas is the first purpose-built Grand Prix facility in the U.S. near Austin, Texas, with a 5.513km track and a capacity for 120,000 fans. Construction of the impressive 1000-acre facility was completed late in 2012, with MotoGP lining up at the track for the first time… read more.

Length 5.513 kilometres / 3.426 miles
Width 15 metres
Left corners 11
Right corners 9
Longest straight 1.2 kilometres / 0.746 miles
Constructed 2012
Modified 2018 (track repairs to the surface to smooth down bumps)

9201 Circuit of the Americas Blvd Austin, TX 78617 - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 2m 00.864s (164.2 km/h) Maverick Viñales (Aprilia, 2024)
Race Lap 2m 02.575s (161.9 km/h) Maverick Viñales (Aprilia, 2024)
Race Time 41m 09.503s (160.7 km/h) Maverick Viñales (Aprilia, 2024)
2024 Sprint Winner Maverick Viñales (Aprilia)
2024 Race Winner Maverick Viñales (Aprilia)