The Red Bull Indianapolis GP provided two memorable battles with Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez emerging victorious over Jorge Lorenzo, and Dani Pedrosa battling with Valentino Rossi but narrowly missing out on a podium.

Marc and Dani both lost a position on the opening lap, dropping down to 2nd and 3rd respectively as the race began under a constant threat of a thunderstorm. Together with Jorge and Valentino, they began to open up a gap over the rest of the field and on lap eighteen Valentino passed Dani into 3rd.

The riders split into two groups with Jorge and Marc opening up a gap and with eight laps remaining rain flags were displayed at points around the circuit. Fortunately the storm held off and the riders pushed on, tracing each other lap after lap. Dani passed Valentino on lap twenty three but was passed back within a few corners.

Meanwhile, Marc set a new lap record (1’32.625 lap twenty four, beating his 2014 time of 1’32.831) as he chased down Jorge, passing him in turn one on lap twenty five. He was able to fend off a challenging Jorge and clinched his 7th win in America in the MotoGP class, and crowning Honda’s 700th victory in World Grands Prix. Dani and Valentino continued to trade places on the final lap but despite a valiant effort, Dani was unable to take the final podium place.

Honda riders have won all the MotoGP races in Indianapolis for the past six years and now celebrate eleven consecutive wins on American soil (since Indianapolis 2010). Marc has now moved into 3rd in the Championship Standings, 56 points behind Valentino. Dani remains in 7th place on 80 points after ten rounds of the 2015 season.

Marc Marquez

1st Championship Standing: 3rd - 139 points

"The race went very well, but we were pretty much on the limit. The truth is that Jorge improved a lot during the race, and I didn’t think there would be so many laps in the 1’32s. Even towards the end of the race we did a 1’32.6, which is very fast! We used the strategy of attacking at the end, when there were three laps remaining, and I think it was ideal for taking victory at this circuit. I’m also very proud to have taken Honda’s 700th victory! This is a very special moment for all the team and I dedicate it to all of Honda."

Dani Pedrosa

4th Championship Standing: 7th - 80 points

"It was a very physical race. We had to fight a lot with the bike because the grip was difficult. The surprise was Valentino. I knew my pace was a little slower than Marc and Jorge’s, but after practice I thought I might be a little closer. However, Valentino made a big step forward as usual and we had to fight for the podium; on the last lap he overtook me on the second corner and I couldn’t return the pass. I’m happy for Honda to have achieved the 700th victory, it’s an honour to have played a part in this impressive statistic!"

MotoGP 2015
Race Round 10   Indianapolis

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA 25 Repsol Honda Team Honda 41'55.371
2 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA 20 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.688
3 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA 16 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +5.966
4 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA 13 Repsol Honda Team Honda +6.147
5 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA 11 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +21.528
6 Smith Bradley 38 GBR 10 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +21.751
7 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA 9 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +30.378
8 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR 8 CWM LCR Honda Honda +31.607
9 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA 7 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +32.821
10 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA 6 Pramac Racing Ducati +34.517
11 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA 5 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki +39.010
12 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL 4 Ducati +41.815
13 Redding Scott 45 GBR 3 EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda +50.209
14 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 2 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki +1'00.465
15 Barbera Hector 8 SPA 1 Avintia Racing Ducati +1'04.147
17 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA 0 Avintia Racing Ducati +1'06.941
18 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA 0 Aprilia Racing Aprilia +1'13.862
19 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE 0 Aspar Team Honda +1'18.706
20 Bradl Stefan 6 GER 0 Aprilia Racing Aprilia +1'19.730
21 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM 0 E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART +1'19.882
22 Elias Toni 24 SPA 0 AB Motoracing Honda +1'19.934
23 Miller Jack 43 AUS 0 LCR Honda Honda DNF
Location Information

The first motorsport race which took place at Indy was a motorcycle one on August 14th 1909, on the 2.5 mile oval circuit, and despite its 100-year history it was not until 2008 that MotoGP arrived at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. To celebrate the event an intense modification of the… read more.

Length 4.170 kilometres / 2.591 miles
Width 16 metres
Left corners 10
Right corners 6
Longest straight 0.872 kilometres / 0.542 miles
Constructed 1909
Modified 2014

Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, IN, United States - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m31.619s (163.8km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2014)
Race Lap 1m32.625s (162km/) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2015)
Race Time 41m55.371s (161.1 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2015)
2015 Race Winner Marc Marquez (Honda)