Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa have completed a faultless day placing first and second for tomorrow’s 27 lap race, the first qualifying 1-2 since the GP of Malaysia in 2014.

Both riders were immediately fast with Marc posting his best time on his first exit, with a time of 1’31.884 and was unable to better this on his second run. Dani went straight to second place on his first run then improved his time on his second exit closing in on Marc’s time and finishing just 0.171 seconds off his teammate with a time of 1’32.055.

Marc has started from pole in every race on American soil in the MotoGP class except Laguna Seca in 2013, making it six from seven and tomorrow he will be aiming for his fifth consecutive win at the Brickyard.

The race will begin at 14h00 local time.

Marc Marquez

1st 1'31.884

"I'm happy because FP4 went very well. Maybe the 6 tenths aren't completely 'real' and there is actually only one or two tenths difference, but the positive thing is that we managed to turn around the gap that we had to Jorge yesterday. There is still the warmup tomorrow and I think everybody is improving, as the track condition is changing and we have to continue to adapt to it. Right now Jorge is the toughest rival and we must be vigilant."

Dani Pedrosa

2nd 1'32.055

"Today we worked a lot with the tyres, because at the moment my race pace is slower than that of Marc and Jorge. In the qualifying session I was able to do quite well. With the second tyre I had a good feeling, but I made some mistakes in some sections of the circuit and I tried to do an extra lap - which didn't go so well. I'm happy to get a place on the front row, so we will continue working hard to try and gain a few tenths for tomorrow, because there are a couple of sectors - the first two - in which I am losing some time. We shall see if we can improve my riding and increase the grip a little, so that tomorrow we can be in the fight for the win."

MotoGP 2015
Qualifying Round 10   Indianapolis

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'31.884
2 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'32.055
3 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'32.186
4 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'32.208
5 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'32.243
6 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'32.269
7 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'32.468
8 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'32.511
9 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'32.571
10 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'32.636
11 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'32.670
12 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'32.814
13 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'33.170
14 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'33.199
15 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'33.278
16 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'33.381
17 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'33.822
18 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'33.839
19 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'33.978
21 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'34.226
22 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'34.322
23 Elias Toni 24 SPA AB Motoracing Honda 1'35.167
Location Information

The first motorsport race which took place at Indy was a motorcycle one on August 14th 1909, on the 2.5 mile oval circuit, and despite its 100-year history it was not until 2008 that MotoGP arrived at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. To celebrate the event an intense modification of the… read more.

Length 4.170 kilometres / 2.591 miles
Width 16 metres
Left corners 10
Right corners 6
Longest straight 0.872 kilometres / 0.542 miles
Constructed 1909
Modified 2014

Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, IN, United States - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m31.619s (163.8km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2014)
Race Lap 1m32.625s (162km/) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2015)
Race Time 41m55.371s (161.1 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2015)
2015 Race Winner Marc Marquez (Honda)