A sunny morning and a rainy afternoon on the opening day of the Austrian Grand Prix meant that only the FP1 session was available for the riders to fight for a provisional top-10 position.

Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa set the fourth- and sixth-fastest times, respectively, having both found a good enough pace since the start of action at the Red Bull Ring.

Should the bad weather continue into tomorrow morning, Marc and Dani will have already secured entry in the Q2 session.

Marc Marquez

1st (Wet FP2) - 4th (Combined) 1'33.995 (Wet FP1) - 1'24.411 (Combined)

“It was a good day for us. This afternoon, we actually had some doubts about going out in the rain, because it should be dry tomorrow afternoon and Sunday. Anyway, we decided to try, and we just did a few laps to check the electronics and a little bit the setup. I immediately felt very good and confident, but the most important thing is that I also had a good feeling this morning in the dry. We knew there was the possibility of rain later but we decided to go on with the same tyre, the medium spec, for the entire session, working for the race as we normally do. Tomorrow we’ll try the other tyre specs. Sure, the Ducatis are very fast here, especially Dovizioso, but we’re not far off.”

Dani Pedrosa

23rd (Wet FP2) - 6th (Combined) 1'39.911 (Wet FP2) - 1'24.474 (Combined)

“The track was completely dry in the morning, so we tried to be as fast as possible because of the high chance of rain in FP2. We also hoped to take full advantage of the session, to understand as much as possible the track and the tyres. This afternoon I did just a couple of laps, just to check the tyres and the grip in wet conditions, and it was better than I expected. Clearly, it would be a problem if the rain gets really hard. The weather here changes very quickly, so it was important to try and understand the feeling we were able to get, but anyway the conditions should be better tomorrow.”

MotoGP 2018
Practice Round 11   Austria

Combined Free Practice Times

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'23.830
2 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'24.045 / 0.215
3 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'24.320 / 0.490
4 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'24.411 / 0.581
5 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'24.436 / 0.606
6 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'24.474 / 0.644
7 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 1'24.491 / 0.661
8 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1'24.676 / 0.846
9 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'24.767 / 0.937
10 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'24.835 / 1.005
11 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'24.884 / 1.054
12 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'24.904 / 1.074
13 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1'24.938 / 1.108
14 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'24.939 / 1.109
15 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1'24.973 / 1.143
16 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 1'25.011 / 1.181
17 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'25.107 / 1.277
18 Miller Jack 43 AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1'25.184 / 1.354
19 Redding Scott 45 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'25.354 / 1.524
20 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1'25.541 / 1.711
21 Syahrin Hafizh 55 MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'25.594 / 1.764
22 Simeon Xavier 10 BEL Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1'25.752 / 1.922
23 Luthi Tom 12 SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'25.979 / 2.149
Location Information

The Red Bull Ring in Spielberg is located beautifully in the Murtal-region of Styria, Austria. The circuit was originally built in 1969, then known as the Österreichring. In 1996 it was rebuilt with the track-layout it still had when, in 2011, it was reopened as the Red Bull Ring and… read more.

Length 4.3 km / 2.68 miles
Width 13 metres
Left corners 3
Right corners 7
Longest straight 626 m / 2053.81 ft
Constructed 1969
Modified 1996

Red Bull Ring, Spielberg, Steiermark, Austria - View in Google Maps



Pole Position 1m28.772s (176.3 Km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m29.854s (174.2 Km/h) Jorge Martin (Ducati, 2022)
Race Time 42'14.886 (172.8 Km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)