Today in the GP of the Czech Republic, Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa recorded Repsol Honda’s fourth 1-2 finish of 2013, with Marc taking his fourth win in a row – fifth of the year – something no premier class rookie has achieved in the 65-year history of Grand Prix racing.

It was a spectacular race which saw Jorge Lorenzo steal the lead from the start as Marc and Dani both progressed a position to slot in behind him in 2nd and 3rd. Once again the three Spanish riders rode in perfect formation with barely any time separating them, Marc setting a new fastest race lap on lap 3 with 1’56.135.

On lap 13, marshals displayed a white flag signalling there may be some rain. Thankfully the threat didn’t materialise and the three riders continued to push. Then on lap 16, Marc attacked Lorenzo passing him briefly before being passed back. A few corners later, Marc attempted a move agin and this time made it stick. Lorenzo didn’t give up and on lap 18 he passed Marc again to retake the lead and on lap 19 Marc took the position back with just a few laps remaining. Dani never lost touch to Marc and Lorenzo during this battle and on lap 20 he also passed Lorenzo to secure 2nd position and a fantastic 1-2 for the Repsol Honda Team.

With Marc’s victory in Brno, he has become the first rider since Valentino Rossi in 2008 to win four or more successive races in the premier class and also the youngest rider to have won four successive premier class Grand Prix races. He has also equalled the most podiums scored by a rider in his rookie season, matching Valentino Rossi, who finished on the podium ten times in 2000.

Dani’s 2nd place finish marks his 78th podium finish in the premier class, equalling four-time 500cc World Champion Eddie Lawson. Only three riders have more podium finishes in the premier class: Valentino Rossi (145), Mick Doohan (95) and Giacomo Agostini (88).

Marc has now stretched his lead to 213 points with Dani on 187 and Lorenzo on 169. Honda also lead the Constructors Championship and the Repsol Honda Team lead the Team Championship.


Marc Marquez

“I’m so happy! Before we came here I didn’t expect to win, because Jorge and Valentino had both tested at Brno recently and Dani is always so fast here and won the race last year. It is a completely different track from those at which we have raced before, and these 25 points feel different to Indianapolis. This was a very hard fought win and I enjoyed myself a lot. The battle with Jorge was really good and we are pleased with the victory. Thanks to all the team.”

Dani Pedrosa

“I am very happy with the result, generally speaking, because after all the problems with my injury and the doubts we’ve had at the last few races, we took a big step forward with my mental preparation today. We were more ready to win here, despite not being 100 percent. Unfortunately, our strategy was not the best. I had problems overtaking throughout the race, because I couldn't brake late and was always the third rider in the trio at the front. I think that I made my final attack one lap too late. If I had passed Jorge one lap earlier, maybe I would have been in with a chance of the victory. In any case, we had the right attitude of attacking until the end and gaining ground on Marc. I just needed another lap in order to catch him. We will try again next time. I want to thank the team for the great job that they did this weekend.”

MotoGP 2013
Race Round 11   Czech Republic

Results Session

Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA 25 Repsol Honda Team Honda 42'50.729
2 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA 20 Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.313
3 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA 16 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +2.277
4 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA 13 Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +10.101
5 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA 11 Go & Fun Honda Gresini Honda +10.178
6 Bradl Stefan 6 GER 10 LCR Honda MotoGP Honda +19.807
7 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA 9 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +35.015
9 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA 7 Ducati +51.149
10 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 6 Power Electronics Aspar ART +56.392
11 Edwards Colin 5 USA 5 Athina Forward Racing FTR-Kawasaki +57.420
12 Pirro Michele 51 ITA 4 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +1'05.430
13 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA 3 Came IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER +1'12.364
14 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN 2 Avintia Blusens FTR +1'13.500
15 De Puniet Randy 14 FRA 1 Power Electronics Aspar ART +1'14.128
16 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL 0 Paul Bird Motorsport ART +1'14.991
17 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR 0 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +1'20.640
18 Laverty Michael 70 GBR 0 Paul Bird Motorsport PBM +1'34.462
19 Abraham Karel 17 CZE 0 AB Motoracing ART +1'49.713
20 Staring Bryan 67 AUS 0 Go & Fun Honda Gresini FTR-Honda +1'50.024
21 Bauer Martin 45 AUT 0 Remus Racing Team S&B Suter +1 lap
22 Smith Bradley 38 GBR 0 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha DNF
23 Pesek Lukas 52 CZE 0 Came IodaRacing Project IODA-SUTER DNF
24 Corti Claudio 71 ITA 0 Athina Forward Racing FTR-Kawasaki DNF
25 Barbera Hector 8 SPA 0 Avintia Blusens FTR DNF
Location Information

The world’s most famous riders have taken part in GP events in Brno since 1930, where up until 1982 they would race through the villages and western parts of the city on a road track named after the first Czechoslovak President – T.G. Masaryk.The only venue that has hosted more… read more.

Length 5.403 kilometres / 3.357 miles
Width 15 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 8
Longest straight 0.636 kilometres / 0.395 miles
Constructed 1987
Modified 1996

Automotodrom Brno, Brno, Czech Republic - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m54.596s (169.7 Km km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2016)
Race Lap 1m 56.027s (167.6 km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2014)
Race Time 41m07.728s (166.6 km/h) Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati, 2018)
2020 Race Winner Brad Binder (KTM)