After a wet start to the Red Bull GP of The Americas, this afternoon the track dried up and allowed the MotoGP riders the opportunity to experience some dry track time.

The track improved as the FP2 session continued and it was reigning World Champion, Marc Marquez, who finished on top. His time of 2’04.835 recorded on his final lap of ten, placed him 0.327 seconds ahead of satellite Honda rider Cal Crutchlow in the combined times. Marc’s teammate, Hiroshi Aoyama, finished the day in 16th with his time of 2’07.268 (lap 12/12). Hiroshi – standing in for injured Dani Pedrosa – was grateful to have some dry track time to assist his learning experience aboard the Honda RC213V.

Tomorrow’s FP3 session is scheduled to begin at 09h55 local time.

Marc Marquez

1st 2'04.835 [lap 10/10]

“Today was a positive day and in general it went fairly well. In the morning we rode in wet conditions, which was important because it is possible that Sunday’s race will be under the same circumstances and we were able to discard a few things. In the second session we were able to ride in the dry and, although we only put in five fast laps, the feeling was good and we could draw a few conclusions. Let’s hope that tomorrow the weather is dry and we can continue trying out some modifications to the bike to improve further –although the important thing is that our initial feeling is positive.”

Hiroshi Aoyama

16th 2'07.268 [lap12/12]

“Unfortunately this morning’s session was in wet conditions which wasn’t the easiest start for me in learning how to ride this bike. We adjusted the bike a little and by the end I had more confidence. This afternoon it was slightly damp still but we rode on the slicks so I could get some experience in drier conditions. We didn’t really change too much on the bike, I just needed to put in some laps as I’m still missing a good feeling on the bike.”

MotoGP 2015
Practice Round 2   Americas

Results Session

Wet / Dry
Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 2'04.835
2 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 2'05.162
3 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 2'05.190
4 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 2'05.564
5 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 2'05.646
6 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 2'05.691
7 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2'05.840
8 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 2'05.990
9 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 2'06.092
10 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2'06.134
11 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 2'06.174
12 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 2'06.216
13 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 2'06.294
14 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 2'06.591
15 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 2'07.011
16 Aoyama Hiroshi 7 JPN Repsol Honda Team Honda 2'07.268
17 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 2'07.419
18 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 2'07.581
19 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 2'07.916
20 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 2'07.968
21 Abraham Karel 17 CZE AB Motoracing Honda 2'08.266
23 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 2'09.372
24 Melandri Marco 33 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 2'11.258
25 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 2'12.409
Location Information

The Circuit Of The Americas is the first purpose-built Grand Prix facility in the U.S. near Austin, Texas, with a 5.513km track and a capacity for 120,000 fans. Construction of the impressive 1000-acre facility was completed late in 2012, with MotoGP lining up at the track for the first time… read more.

Length 5.513 kilometres / 3.426 miles
Width 15 metres
Left corners 11
Right corners 9
Longest straight 1.2 kilometres / 0.746 miles
Constructed 2012
Modified 2018 (track repairs to the surface to smooth down bumps)

9201 Circuit of the Americas Blvd Austin, TX 78617 - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 2m 02.039s (162.6 km/h) Jorge Martin (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 2m 03.521s (160.6 km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
Race Time 41m 23.11s (159.8 km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Enea Bastianini (Ducati)