Fresh from his podium finish in Catalunya, Dani was immediately fast out of the box in this morning’s FP1 session – which he led for the majority – ending up third fastest with his time of 1’34.570 (lap 19/19). Dani did an exhaust comparison today and worked on various setups on his Honda RC213V machine, improving his time in the afternoon by over a second with his record breaking lap of 1’33.450 (lap 18/20), beating Casey Stoner’s record pole lap in 2012 of 1’33.713.

Despite a small crash on his out lap this morning (turn thirteen), Marc was able to press the reset button and continue his work as normal aboard the 2014 specification chassis – with updated 2015 swing arm and exhaust. This afternoon, Marc also improved significantly from FP1 (1’34.552 lap 17/20) with his time of 1’33.589 also under Casey’s time, finishing second behind teammate Dani.

Dani Pedrosa

1st 1'33.450 [lap18/20]

"We started well today. Above all, we wanted to take advantage of the track being dry and in good condition, because here in Assen the weather is always a little unpredictable and so it was important for trying out tyres and bike setups. We have made a good start comparing different exhausts and working on setup, so tomorrow we will aim to continue in the same way."

Marc Marquez

2nd 1'33.589 [lap 5/9]

"Today went fairly well and I'm happy because we had some more normal free practice sessions - riding with a good pace and used tyres - and I enjoyed myself on the bike. It’s clear that we still have to work hard and improve, but I'm happy with how things went. We expected Jorge and Valentino to be further ahead of us at this circuit, but this has not been the case. Dani was fastest and I was second which is good for the team. However, this is only practice and we must continue to progress, and I think that Valentino especially has a strong pace."

MotoGP 2015
Practice Round 8   Assen

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'33.450
2 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'33.589
3 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'33.652
4 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'33.699
5 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR CWM LCR Honda Honda 1'33.734
6 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'33.741
7 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'33.844
8 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'33.857
9 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'34.133
10 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'34.232
11 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'34.321
12 Hernandez Yonny 68 COL Ducati 1'34.406
13 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'34.627
14 Redding Scott 45 GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'34.643
15 Bradl Stefan 6 GER Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'34.664
16 Baz Loris 76 FRA Athina Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 1'34.897
17 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Honda 1'35.047
19 Miller Jack 43 AUS LCR Honda Honda 1'35.348
20 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'35.489
21 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'35.538
22 Di Meglio Mike 63 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 1'35.663
23 De Angelis Alex 15 RSM E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 1'36.869
24 Melandri Marco 33 ITA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'37.225
Location Information

Assen is the only venue to have held a round of the Motorcycle World Championship every year since its creation in 1949. The circuit was purpose built for the Dutch TT in 1955, with previous events having been held on public roads. The track is narrow, with rapid changes in… read more.

Length 4.542 kilometres / 2.822 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 12
Longest straight 0.487 kilometres / 0.303 miles
Constructed 1955
Modified 2012

TT Circuit Assen, De Haar, Assen, The Netherlands - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 31.504s (178.6km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 32.500s (176.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Time 40m 25.205s (175.2km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)