Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa both spent the second day of the Qatar pre-season test working on the general race setup of their RC213V.

Marc took to the track at 5:30 p.m. and managed to complete a five-lap run before a brief drizzle halted the action for nearly half an hour. Back on track, the Repsol Honda rider posted the sixth-fastest time of 1’55.196” on lap 10 of 50, improving on his personal best from yesterday by 0.703”. Dani headed out at 6:30 p.m. and finished in 16th place with his time of 1’55.875” (lap 23 of 48).

The test will conclude tomorrow, signalling the end of the 2017 pre-season.

Marc Marquez

6th 1‘55.196

“The impression is much better that yesterday. Today I’m quite happy, as we worked really well and made the correct steps. We were missing something during the day but in the last run we found something interesting for tomorrow. We’ll try to keep working in this way, which I believe is the right one. At the moment our rhythm isn’t bad, but we need to do better. This track isn’t one of the best for us, but we still have another day and we’ll try to make the best of it, working especially on the electronics side. The base isn’t bad; today we tried something that didn’t give the results we were hoping for, but we’ve planned something for tomorrow that we hope will allow us to improve.”

Dani Pedrosa

16th 1’55.875

“Today it was difficult to manage as the track was quite different from yesterday; it didn’t have much grip. That’s why we didn’t go for the fast time but instead worked to improve the feeling. Step by step, we improved a bit but not enough. We tried a long run as well, almost race distance, to understand the bike’s behaviour and in the end it wasn’t bad. We hope that tomorrow we can have a better feeling. We’re at a better point compared to last year at this stage of the season, but there are some areas that we need to understand more. We’re still trying to get as much information as we can before the first race.”

MotoGP 2017
Testing   Qatar

Results Day 2

Cloudy Night
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'54.455
2 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.277
3 Folger Jonas 94 GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 0.462
4 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 0.577
5 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.666
6 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.741
7 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 0.790
8 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.889
9 Redding Scott 45 GBR Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 0.898
10 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 0.899
11 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 0.965
12 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1.090
13 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1.128
14 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 1.225
15 Baz Loris 76 FRA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1.353
16 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1.420
17 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1.655
18 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 1.759
19 Miller Jack 43 AUS Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 1.796
20 Lowes Sam 22 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1.821
21 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Yamaha 2.193
22 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 2.812
23 Kallio Mika 36 FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 3.233
Location Information

The fabulous Lusail International Circuit lies on the outskirts of Doha, the capital city of Qatar. Built in little over a year, the track cost $58 million USD and required round-the-clock dedication from almost 1,000 workers in order to get it ready for the inaugural event – the Marlboro Grand… read more.

Length 5.380 kilometres / 3.343 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 10
Longest straight 1.068 kilometres / 0.664 miles
Constructed 2004

Losail International Circuit, Al Daayen, Qatar - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 52.772s (171.7km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2021)
Race Lap 1m 54.624s (168.9 km/h) Maverick Viñales (Yamaha,2021)
Race Time 42m13.198 (168.2km/h) Enea Bastianini (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Enea Bastianini (Ducati)