Zero points after promising starts for both Pol Espargaro and Stefan Bradl, a grueling weekend over as attention turns to the test.

Unrelenting and oppressive conditions continued to hammer the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya from early in the day. As the MotoGP World Championship lined up on the grid for the 24-lap race, it was clear it would be a race of survival.

In front of his home fans, Pol Espargaro shot off the line as he worked to stay with the leading group and ran as high as fourth. But after these early laps Espargaro’s race would become a nightmare as he steadily dropped back through the field. Crossing the line in 17th, Espargaro suffered throughout the race from a lack of grip compared to the previous day, which is being investigated by Michelin and Honda.

Stefan Bradl’s race came to a premature end after a strong start. The German fell at Turn 10 on the first lap after fighting his way into the points. Sustaining no major injuries, the HRC Test Rider is looking forward to a night of rest and recovery before Monday’s test.

Both riders will be out on Monday to continue working on the evolution of the Honda RC213V.

Pol Espargaro


“Today we had a lack of grip compared to the previous sessions unfortunately. It’s really disappointing because I made a great start and was up there with the leading group. Tomorrow we have an important test and I think it will be very busy for me. Let’s prepare properly for the second part of the season. I hope Taka is OK, it was a big crash right in front of me.”

Stefan Bradl


"An unfortunate end to the weekend. I made a really good start and was riding well, making up positions. We were battling near the points when the rear started to slide at Turn 10 and I fell. It was quite a big impact, I am a bit sore but it is nothing major. It’s really a shame because we could have been fighting for points today. Now I get ready for the test on Monday."

MotoGP 2022
Race Round 9   Catalunya

Gran Premi de Catalunya Race Results

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA 25 Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 40'29.360
2 Martin Jorge 89 SPA 20 Pramac Racing Ducati 6.473
3 Zarco Johann 5 FRA 16 Pramac Racing Ducati 8.385
4 Mir Joan 36 SPA 13 Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 11.481
5 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA 11 Aprilia Racing Aprilia 14.395
6 Marini Luca 10 ITA 10 Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati 15.430
7 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA 9 Aprilia Racing Aprilia 15.975
8 Binder Brad 33 RSA 8 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 21.436
9 Oliveira Miguel 88 POR 7 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 26.800
10 Marquez Alex 73 SPA 6 LCR Honda Honda 30.460
11 Gardner Remy AUS 5 32.443
12 Binder Darryn 40 RSA 4 WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 32.881
13 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA 3 Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 33.168
14 Miller Jack 43 AUS 2 Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 34.693
15 Fernandez Raul SPA 1 37.844
16 Pirro Michele ITA 0 44.533
17 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA 0 Repsol Honda Team Honda 46.199
18 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA DNF WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha DNF
19 Di Giannantonio Fabio 49 ITA DNF Team Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati DNF
20 Bastianini Enea 23 ITA DNF Team Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati DNF
21 Bezzecchi Marco 73 ITA DNF Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati DNF
22 Bagnaia Francesco 62 ITA DNF Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati DNF
23 Rins Alex 42 SPA DNF Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki DNF
24 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN DNF LCR Honda Honda DNF
25 Bradl Stefan 6 GER DNF HRC Test Team Honda DNF
Location Information

In 1989, through the joint collaboration of the Catalan Autonomous Government, the Montmeló Town Council and the Royal Automobile Club of Catalunya (RACC), work began on giving one of Europe’s most beautiful cities a state of the art race track to match. The Circuit de Catalunya opened on the doorstep… read more.

Length 4.627 kilometres / 2.875 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 1.047 kilometres / 0.651 miles
Constructed 1991
Modified 2018

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló, Catalunya, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m38.190s (170.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2024)
Race Lap 1m39.664 (168.2km/h) Pedro Acosta (KTM, 2024)
Race Time 40'11.726 (166.8km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati,2024)
2024 Sprint Winner Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia)
2024 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)