On the second and final day of the Valencia test, Marc Marquez took to the circuit around 10:20 a.m. local time and made the best of the fair weather conditions to complete a busy test schedule. Marc decided to not try the new front Michelin tyres and instead worked to better understand the new engine, also completing two long runs to find a good base setup. His fastest time of 1’30.171 on lap 58 of 79 placed him second-fastest on the day, just 0.196 seconds from the top.

Dani Pedrosa joined the action shortly after noon, when the track reopened after having been red-flagged for over an hour due to safety conditions following a crash by Alex Rins and Andrea Iannone. Like his teammate, Dani didn’t test the new Michelin front tyre and instead concentrated on comparing the characteristics of his current bike with the 2017 engine. His time of 1’30.686 (lap 38 of 42) put him in fifth place.

Marc Marquez

2nd 1’30.171

“Today was a good day. We started the pre-season better than last year, and we hope to continue to constantly progress from now on. At this track we found a good base setup and a good rhythm, and we’ll see how it goes from now. We hope to continue like this. We didn’t do a ‘time attack,’ and we also didn’t test the new Michelin front, as we eventually used all the track time available to make long exits and also a couple of 10-lap mini-long runs.”

Dani Pedrosa

5th 1'30.686

“Today we were able to ride with the new bike a little more and further compare the characteristics. We continued to take things fairly easy physically and not put in too many laps in order to keep up the recovery, but we tried to understand more about the new bike, to see how the tyres, suspension and mapping work with it. I think there are things that are positive and other details that we’ll need to continue working on. We must take the data we’ve gathered and carefully analyze it in order to understand what step to take next with the bike.”

MotoGP 2016
Testing   Valencia

Valencia Test Day 2

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'29.975
2 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.191
3 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.468
4 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.624
5 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.711
6 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 0.734
7 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.734
8 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.769
9 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.910
10 Folger Jonas 94 GER Yamaha Test Team Yamaha 0.973
11 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 1.040
12 Miller Jack 43 AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1.094
13 Redding Scott 45 GBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich Ducati 1.143
14 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1.211
15 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1.269
16 Pirro Michele 51 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1.841
17 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1.878
18 Rabat Tito 53 SPA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1.943
19 Baz Loris 76 FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 2.186
20 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2.563
21 Laverty Eugene 50 IRE Aspar Team Ducati 2.593
22 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Aspar Team Ducati 2.724
23 Tsuda Takuya 22 JPN Suzuki Test Team Suzuki 3.330
24 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 3.786
25 Lowes Sam 22 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia /
Location Information

The Circuito de la Comunitat Valenciana was completed in 1999 and held rounds of the MotoGP and Spanish Motorcycle Championships in the same year. The Cheste track has several layouts, running anti-clockwise with varying lengths. MotoGP events are held on a 4km track comprising of five right handed corners, eight… read more.

Length 4.005 kilometres / 2.489 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 9
Right corners 5
Longest straight 0.876 kilometres / 0.544 miles
Constructed 1999

Circuito de la Comunidad Valenciana Ricardo Tormo, Cheste, Spain - View in Google Maps



Pole Position 1m 29.401s (161.2km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2016)
Race Lap 1m 31.116s (158.2km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2019)
Race Time 45m 54.228s (157 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2016)
2020 Race Winner Race 1: Joan Mir (Suzuki) || Race 2: Franco Morbidelli (Yamaha)