Qualifying day at the Dutch TT dawned wet as expected, with all of the day’s sessions affected by rain to greater or lesser extents.

Marc Marquez set the third fastest time in FP3 on a wet track and the seventh fastest in FP4 in mixed conditions before attaining a very important front-row start position during qualifying, on a wet-but-drying surface. Marc set a series of fastest laps throughout the 15-minute stint and was pushed off provisional pole only by Johann Zarco at the very end, by just 0.065 seconds.

Dani Pedrosa had to settle for a fourth-row start after struggling all day with a lack of grip, finding it hard to put enough heat into the tyres in today’s challenging weather conditions.

Weather forecasts indicate dry conditions for tomorrow’s MotoGP race, which will get underway at 1 p.m. local time.

Marc Marquez

2ND 1'46.206

“Today was one of those days when you have to take some risks because you ‘need’ to be there. Toward the end of the session, a dry line started to form and we were able to be faster and faster. At the very end I missed the chance to do another lap when I took the flag by a couple of seconds. But okay, we’re on the front row, which was the main target for today. The team did a great job and I’m happy. Tomorrow we’ll see what weather we have. You never know here; it can change every five minutes. Our opponents are strong in both wet and dry, but we’re not so far off and tomorrow we’ll try to start well, stay with them, and fight for the podium.”

Dani Pedrosa

12TH 1'49.623

“It was impossible for me to ride normally today, as I couldn’t put any temperature in the tyres, especially the rear and especially on the full wet. I had no grip at all; the tyres were too hard for me. We tried everything on the bike, everything on the tyres, everything on track, but unfortunately there was nothing to do. For tomorrow, of course we must adapt to the situation, which isn’t the best for me at this track, but I’ll try to focus on the race and do as well as possible.”

MotoGP 2017
Qualifying Round 8   Assen

Qualifying Results (Wet Session)

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'46.141
2 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'46.206
3 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 1'46.526
4 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'46.705
5 Redding Scott 45 GBR Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 1'47.574
6 Folger Jonas 94 GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'47.663
7 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 1'47.812
8 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 1'48.042
9 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'48.079
10 Lowes Sam 22 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'48.128
11 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'48.266
12 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'49.623
13 Miller Jack 43 AUS Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 1'47.217-Q1
14 Baz Loris 76 FRA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1'47.234-Q1
15 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'47.277-Q1
16 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'47.649-Q1
17 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'47.804-Q1
18 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 1'47.947-Q1
19 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Yamaha 1'47.957-Q1
20 Barbera Hector 8 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1'48.080-Q1
21 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'48.219-Q1
22 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1'48.448-Q1
23 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 1'48.700-Q1
Location Information

Assen is the only venue to have held a round of the Motorcycle World Championship every year since its creation in 1949. The circuit was purpose built for the Dutch TT in 1955, with previous events having been held on public roads. The track is narrow, with rapid changes in… read more.

Length 4.542 kilometres / 2.822 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 12
Longest straight 0.487 kilometres / 0.303 miles
Constructed 1955
Modified 2012

TT Circuit Assen, De Haar, Assen, The Netherlands - View in Google Maps



Pole Position 1m 31.504s (178.6km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 32.500s (176.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Time 40m 25.205s (175.2km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)