Marc Marquez never ceases to impress. A close third-fastest in wet FP3, half a second clear in dry FP4, he set the fifth-fastest time in qualifying after a crash at turn 4 interrupted his first attempt. Marc suffered a blow to his shoulder but was able to quickly recover and mount his second bike to secure a good second-row start for tomorrow’s Valencia GP.

Dani Pedrosa was quite fast (6th) in the wet morning session but struggled a bit in the damp/dry afternoon. Nonetheless, he was ultimately able to earn a third-row start for the final GP of his racing career.

Marc Marquez

5th 1'31.442

“Qualifying today was a bit unlucky as I crashed in the first right-hand corner on my first flying lap, and I soon felt something strange in my shoulder. Luckily, when I got back to my truck and tried a few movements, we realized it wasn’t that bad and I started to feel better. When the doctors arrived and checked it, it was all back in its place and I was ready to get back on my bike. I didn’t push as usual though, as it was better to stay on the bike! Only one tenth off the pole isn’t bad so tomorrow, race day, will be another day.”

Dani Pedrosa

9th 1'32.140

“Today in the dry FP4 I had an issue with the bike’s setup that we weren’t able to adjust before qualifying, so I went out still struggling a bit. I did my best but didn’t manage to get a better position for tomorrow. If it rains tomorrow track conditions will be the key, as whether there’s a lot or a little water on the asphalt will affect the feeling a lot. This morning I ultimately found a good feeling in the wet, but it took me a long time. So let’s wait and see how the weather is and see what we can do tomorrow.”

MotoGP 2018
Qualifying Round 19   Valencia

Results Session

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'31.312
2 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'31.380 / 0.068
3 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'31.392 / 0.080
4 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'31.414 / 0.102
5 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'31.442 / 0.130
6 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1'31.577 / 0.265
7 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 1'31.629 / 0.317
8 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'31.630 / 0.318
9 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'32.140 / 0.828
10 Miller Jack 43 AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1'32.145 / 0.833
11 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 1'32.179 / 0.867
12 Pirro Michele 51 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'32.310 / 0.998
13 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'31.900 Q1
14 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 1'31.928 / 0.546
15 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'32.385 / 1.003
16 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1'32.452 / 1.070
17 Luthi Tom 12 SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1'32.545 / 1.163
18 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1'32.547 / 1.165
19 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1'32.568 / 1.186
20 Bradl Stefan 6 GER LCR Honda Honda 1'32.708 / 1.326
21 Syahrin Hafizh 55 MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1'32.749 / 1.367
22 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1'33.011 / 1.629
23 Torres Jordi 81 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 1'34.427 / 3.045
24 Redding Scott 45 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1'35.171 / 3.789
Location Information

The Circuito de la Comunitat Valenciana was completed in 1999 and held rounds of the MotoGP and Spanish Motorcycle Championships in the same year. The Cheste track has several layouts, running anti-clockwise with varying lengths. MotoGP events are held on a 4km track comprising of five right handed corners, eight… read more.

Length 4.005 kilometres / 2.489 miles
Width 12 metres
Left corners 9
Right corners 5
Longest straight 0.876 kilometres / 0.544 miles
Constructed 1999

Circuito de la Comunidad Valenciana Ricardo Tormo, Cheste, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 29.401s (161.2km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2016)
Race Lap 1m 31.116s (158.2km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2019)
Race Time 45m 54.228s (157 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2016)
2020 Race Winner Race 1: Joan Mir (Suzuki) || Race 2: Franco Morbidelli (Yamaha)