So close was today’s qualifying session in Assen that the riders on the front row ended up within just 0.059”, whilst the top-10 were split by less than 4 tenths of a second.

Well aware of how tight things were going to be today, and will be tomorrow, Marc Marquez worked hard with his crew to prepare for both the race and for the time-attack, which earned him his 75th career pole and 47th pole in MotoGP (his first in MotoGP at Assen).

The Championship leader topped all three sessions today, showing good race pace and blistering speed.

Opposite feelings in the other side of the garage, where Dani Pedrosa was unable to improve on his pace from yesterday and tomorrow will have to start from the sixth row of the grid.

Marc Marquez

pole position 1'32.791

“So far this weekend, things are going better than we were hoping for. The pole has not been one of my strongest points this year, and actually this will be the first time I’ll start form the top spot, because in Austin I earned the pole but was moved back to fourth. I was very happy with the rhythm I could keep in FP3 and FP4 and now I’m even more happy for the Q2 result. We’re trying and working in a good way. At this track stability is one of the main targets to achieve and step by step we improved that a bit. Our first goal is a podium finish but honestly we now have the possibility to fight for the victory. We must remain focused and work well in tomorrow’s warm-up to try and make another little step to improve the stability and to make the final choice for the tyres.”  

Dani Pedrosa

18th 1'34.125

“Today was very difficult. I missed the passage to Q2 this morning and then in Q1 my pace wasn’t fast enough. In the afternoon I also struggled with the wind. My start position is clearly not good but we must try and stay positive for the race and tomorrow fight to recover. It will be important to make the right tyre choice and then get a good start.”

MotoGP 2018
Qualifying Round 8   Assen

Qualifying Classification

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1'32.791
2 Crutchlow Cal 35 GBR LCR Honda Honda 0.041
3 Rossi Valentino 46 ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.059
4 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.079
5 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.142
6 Vinales Maverick 25 SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.193
7 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.238
8 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.281
9 Iannone Andrea 29 ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.329
10 Lorenzo Jorge 99 SPA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.376
11 Petrucci Danilo 9 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.501
12 Bautista Alvaro 19 SPA Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1.224
13 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 1'33.625 Q1
14 Rabat Tito 53 SPA Esponsorama Racing Ducati 0.088
15 Syahrin Hafizh 55 MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 0.088
16 Miller Jack 43 AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 0.094
17 Redding Scott 45 GBR Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.417
18 Pedrosa Dani 26 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.547
19 Abraham Karel 17 CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 0.567
20 Smith Bradley 38 GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.571
21 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.690
22 Luthi Tom 12 SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1.614
23 Simeon Xavier 10 BEL Esponsorama Racing Ducati 2.068
24 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 0.593 (FP1)
Location Information

Assen is the only venue to have held a round of the Motorcycle World Championship every year since its creation in 1949. The circuit was purpose built for the Dutch TT in 1955, with previous events having been held on public roads. The track is narrow, with rapid changes in… read more.

Length 4.542 kilometres / 2.822 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 12
Longest straight 0.487 kilometres / 0.303 miles
Constructed 1955
Modified 2012

TT Circuit Assen, De Haar, Assen, The Netherlands - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 31.504s (178.6km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 32.500s (176.7km/h) Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia, 2022)
Race Time 40m 25.205s (175.2km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
2022 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)