Joan Mir and Luca Marini completed 134 laps between them to end the post-race Jerez Test in 21st and 23rd respectively, the pair working through a variety of items for HRC.

There was no time to rest for the Repsol Honda Team as they were back on track in the south of Spain for the fourth straight day. The first official in-season test of the year offered both Mir and Marini a chance to work for the future as they aim to improve their speed.

Mir would end the day in 21st place thanks to a best lap of 1’37.784. He completed a total of 62 laps before ending in the late afternoon. Working across several different avenues, the #36 was content with the information gathered and the effort shown by HRC’s engineers.

Like his teammate, Marini’s main focus was on confirming the direction for the future as he completed 72 laps with a best time of 1’38.153. The Italian focused on improving his feeling on the bike while supplying feedback on a number of items also trialled by Mir.

Riders and team will now prepare for the next round of the World Championship, the French GP at the Le Mans circuit, May 10 to 12. The French track, best known for two and four wheeled endurance racing, has been on the calendar since 2000 and attracts some of the biggest crowds of the season.

Joan Mir

21st 1'37.784

“Today we tried a lot of different things. The lap time doesn’t show any of the difference but I really feel like we are closer to making a step as it’s clear the direction we need to go. Today was not about improving the lap time, but it was about preparing and building for the future where we can make a step. It was good to improve the general feeling with the bike and I have to say I am happy with the effort that Honda is showing to us.”

Luca Marini

23rd 1'38.153

"It was a busy Monday for us here in Jerez. Honda brought many things for us to try and we worked throughout the day to get everything done. We have been able to do a lot for the future. We are still far from where we need to be, but Honda is not resting."

MotoGP 2024
Testing   Spain

Jerez Test

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Di Giannantonio Fabio 49 ITA Pertamina Enduro VR46 Racing Team Ducati 1'36.405
2 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.087
3 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.122
4 Bagnaia Francesco 1 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.184
5 Marquez Marc 93 SPA Team Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 0.232
6 Binder Brad 33 RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.234
7 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.339
8 Marquez Alex 73 SPA Team Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 0.371
9 Bastianini Enea 23 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.387
10 Martin Jorge 89 SPA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.488
11 Acosta Pedro 31 SPA Red Bull GASGAS Tech 3 KTM 0.488
12 Fernandez Raul 25 SPA Trackhouse Racing Aprilia 0.500
13 Bezzecchi Marco 72 ITA Pertamina Enduro VR46 Racing Team Ducati 0.515
14 Rins Alex 42 SPA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.619
15 Oliveira Miguel 88 POR Trackhouse Racing Aprilia 0.658
16 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 0.921
17 Miller Jack 43 AUS Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.950
18 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1.033
19 Espargaro Pol 44 SPA KTM Test Team KTM 1.116
20 Zarco Johann 5 FRA LCR Honda Honda 1.251
21 Mir Joan 36 SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1.379
22 Fernandez Augusto 37 SPA Red Bull GASGAS Tech 3 KTM 1.445
23 Marini Luca 10 ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1.748
24 Savadori Lorenzo 32 ITA Trackhouse Racing Aprilia 2.437
Location Information

Built in 1986 and hosting its first Grand Prix one year later, the circuit of Jerez is now one of the most popular MotoGP venues and the focal point for a city fanatical about sport. Set in a slight valley in the south of Spain, Jerez is blessed with consistently… read more.

Length 4.423 kilometres / 2.748 miles
Width 11 metres
Left corners 5
Right corners 8
Longest straight 0.607 kilometres / 0.377 miles
Constructed 1986
Modified 2002
Resurfacing Complete resurfacing before 2018 round

Circuito de Jerez, Jerez, Spain - View in Google Maps


Pole Position 1m 36.170s (165.5km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2022)
Race Lap 1m 37.449s (163.3km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2024)
Race Time 40m 58.053s (161.9km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2024)
2024 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)
2024 Sprint Winner Jorge Martin (Ducati)