Lone wolf Stefan Bradl was able to make steady steps forward as he and the Repsol Honda Team worked to improve the RC213V. Meanwhile, Pol Espargaro was forced to withdraw from the race.

Saturday in Assen would prove to be a day of progress for Stefan Bradl. Struggling to get into the 1’33s in the morning, a big effort by the Repsol Honda Team mechanics changed Bradl’s pair of RC213Vs for the afternoon sessions. The one lap improvements were clear to see as Bradl dropped his best lap time from a 1’34.180 in FP3 to a 1’33.029 in Q1 – one of the biggest improvements of the day. The time will see the #6 line up on the sixth row of the grid, ahead of the factory Yamaha of Franco Morbidelli. Bradl is confident that with a strong start he can be in the mix throughout the 26-lap race.

Just ahead of Free Practice 3, Pol Espargaro and thee Repsol Honda Team announced his withdrawal from the event due to injuries sustained at the Sachsenring. Espargaro will now return home to immediately begin further treatment ahead of the British Grand Prix, the scene of his first pole position with Honda.

Takaaki Nakagami qualified as the top Honda in 12th position.

Stefan Bradl

18th 1'33.029

“It was not such a bad final result in Qualifying as we were still exploring some settings with the bike in FP3 and FP4 to get a direction. Missing FP1 with rain left us a bit far away with setup but we’ve done a good job today. In Qualifying we were more or less on target and tomorrow we can be with the group, fighting and getting some positions. I need to make a good start to stay in the group and then see what happens in the race.”

Pol Espargaro

“I feel really sorry for the team, to not finish the Grand Prix was a very hard decision. I thought I was okay after the first session but yesterday in FP2 I pushed very hard and I hurt myself. I don’t know exactly what I have done but it got worse, and I have been struggling with the pain and to breathe. My main priority is to understand the situation fully and work on recovering fully during the summer.”

MotoGP 2022
Qualifying Round 11   Assen

TT Assen - Qualifying Results

Track Temp
Air Temp
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Time/Gap
1 Bagnaia Francesco 62 ITA Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 1'31.504
2 Quartararo Fabio 20 FRA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.116
3 Martin Jorge 89 SPA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.204
4 Bezzecchi Marco 73 ITA Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati 0.292
5 Espargaro Aleix 41 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.364
6 Miller Jack 43 AUS Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati 0.620
7 Zarco Johann 5 FRA Pramac Racing Ducati 0.671
8 Oliveira Miguel 88 POR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.768
9 Rins Alex 42 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.803
10 Binder Brad 33 RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0.863
11 Vinales Maverick 12 SPA Aprilia Racing Aprilia 0.920
12 Nakagami Takaaki 30 JPN LCR Honda Honda 1.463
13 Marini Luca 10 ITA Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati 0.302 Q1
14 Mir Joan 36 SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar Suzuki 0.413
15 Di Giannantonio Fabio 49 ITA Team Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 0.427
16 Bastianini Enea 23 ITA Team Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 0.520
17 Dovizioso Andrea 4 ITA WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 0.524
18 Bradl Stefan 6 GER HRC Test Team Honda 0.544
19 Gardner Remy AUS 0.608
20 Morbidelli Franco 21 ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.611
21 Marquez Alex 73 SPA LCR Honda Honda 0.628
22 Savadori Lorenzo 32 ITA Aprilia Racing Test Team Aprilia 0.982
23 Fernandez Raul SPA 1.167
24 Binder Darryn 40 RSA WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 1.513
Location Information

Assen is the only venue to have held a round of the Motorcycle World Championship every year since its creation in 1949. The circuit was purpose built for the Dutch TT in 1955, with previous events having been held on public roads. The track is narrow, with rapid changes in… read more.

Length 4.542 kilometres / 2.822 miles
Width 14 metres
Left corners 6
Right corners 12
Longest straight 0.487 kilometres / 0.303 miles
Constructed 1955
Modified 2012

TT Circuit Assen, De Haar, Assen, The Netherlands - View in Google Maps



Pole Position 1m 30.540s (180.5km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2024)
Race Lap 1m 31.866s (177.9km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2024)
Race Time 40m 07.214s (176.6km/h) Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati, 2024)
2024 Race Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)
2024 Sprint Winner Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati)